Track Cycling: Velodrome Racing and Training Area Looking to enter into the realm of track racing? Want to share your experiences and tactics for riding on a velodrome? The Track Cycling forums is for you! Come in and discuss training/racing, equipment, and current track cycling events.

Equipment and Parts

Old 12-02-14, 10:34 AM
  #76  
carleton
Elitist
Thread Starter
 
carleton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 15,575
Mentioned: 82 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1206 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Originally Posted by Dalai View Post
Eyes looking straight at the numbers too...

Could start a Carleton looking at stems blog ala Chris Froome Looking at Stems
Hahahahaha!

I actually remember this race. We were in a match sprint and this is on the home straight on the last lap. I was coming around him with enough momentum to float on to the win. My cheeks a puffed because I was exhaling as I was relaxing and just letting my legs float over the pedals.

My RPMs were around 155 at this point because I was running a 45/15 instead of the 13t that I thought was on my wheel at the time...because I'm an idiot.
carleton is offline  
Old 12-02-14, 10:36 AM
  #77  
queerpunk
aka mattio
 
queerpunk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 6,502
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 304 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
That is a tiny gear.
queerpunk is offline  
Old 12-02-14, 11:06 AM
  #78  
carleton
Elitist
Thread Starter
 
carleton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 15,575
Mentioned: 82 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1206 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Originally Posted by queerpunk View Post
That is a tiny gear.
That's what she said...


Yeah, I lost the next round. I was touching 160rpm and couldn't understand why the guy was pulling away from me. When I took my bike apart later that night, I saw my mistake.

I think I had a 15t on my disc because my rear training wheel was flat and I used the disc in warmup.
carleton is offline  
Old 12-03-14, 08:50 AM
  #79  
carleton
Elitist
Thread Starter
 
carleton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 15,575
Mentioned: 82 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1206 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Sugino 75 cranks now with an external BB option:

Dolan Bikes - Sugino SG75DD



They did it before Shimano.
carleton is offline  
Old 12-04-14, 09:29 AM
  #80  
gtrob
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Ontario
Posts: 740

Bikes: T1, S2, P3

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
external BB ftw!

Update on the power2max, got some varied training last night with it. I noticed it 100% did not record power or cadence when I was soft pedaling around the infield. Maybe I was under whatever the minimum limit was (30rpm?), which was very likely. Looking at the data, it basically doesn't record anything under 80w or so, which probably doesn't happen much anyway, but it does bring the average power slightly lower than it likely is. Perhaps its by design, perhaps its a problem, perhaps its a problem with the track version.

Other than that its accurate for what matters. It was a hard workout and right on par with my road data. On our tight 138m track its interesting to see the power go way down in the corners even though the speed doesn't change, you sort of whip around.
gtrob is offline  
Old 12-04-14, 10:28 AM
  #81  
Quinn8it
Senior Member
 
Quinn8it's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Hollywood
Posts: 956

Bikes: Bianchi Pista, Bianchi Vigorelli

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Originally Posted by gtrob View Post
Looking at the data, it basically doesn't record anything under 80w or so, which probably doesn't happen much anyway, but it does bring the average power slightly lower than it likely is. Perhaps its by design, perhaps its a problem, perhaps its a problem with the track version.
Take a look at your "Data Rec" on your Garmin500. It's under "Bike settings".
Make sure that you have Cadence and Power both set to "Zero Average", and confirm you are set to "every second" in Data Recording.

I had some wanky readings and a call to Stages revealed that this was my problem. Turned out that a recent firmware update had reset the unit and the new default on cadence and power was to not Average Zeros, And data is collected with "smart recording"

I had set this all up correctly originally- but the firmware upgrade reset to default
Quinn8it is offline  
Old 12-04-14, 12:43 PM
  #82  
gtrob
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Ontario
Posts: 740

Bikes: T1, S2, P3

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Wouldn't be surprised, as every issue I have ever had with power meters has always been the 500 (not knocking the unit, Ive had it for years now). Ill play with it this weekend some more and see
gtrob is offline  
Old 01-01-15, 06:50 PM
  #83  
carleton
Elitist
Thread Starter
 
carleton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 15,575
Mentioned: 82 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1206 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 2 Times in 2 Posts
So, I just ran across these 3.5 inch Kurt Kinetic Z-Rollers that fold into 3 pieces.



https://kurtkinetic.com/products/kinetic-z-rollers/

I still prefer 4.5 inch barrels, but if you like 3.5 inches, these are available. I like the fact that it folds into 3 pieces.
carleton is offline  
Old 03-14-15, 10:46 AM
  #84  
carleton
Elitist
Thread Starter
 
carleton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 15,575
Mentioned: 82 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1206 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 2 Times in 2 Posts
So I had a credit at my local bike shop and I used it to get a second set of Giro Empire shoes. My previous pair I bought in 2013 and only used them on race days.

The new Empire are slightly different...and better.

The sole seems to be slightly redesigned and the laces are shorter. They seem to fit better. I know this is anecdotal, but on my feet they feel like I assume custom shoes would (I've never had custom shoes).

The footbed seems to be OK. It has 3 different inserts to suit your arch. I'll likely just continue use my Sidas footbeds that came with my Fizik R1 that are currently in my 1st set of Giro Empires.

The sole also has replaceable rubber bits.

At first glance, they don't seem to have all of the cool color/pattern offerings they had a couple of years ago. But, maybe they will come as limited edition offerings or something.

So, if you have some older Empires, the new ones are even better.



Empire? ACC Lace-up High-Performance Cycling Shoes

They also offer an SLX version which seems to be lighter...and more expensive. I don't have this one.
http://www.giro.com/us_en/products/m...slx-23035.html

Last edited by carleton; 03-14-15 at 10:51 AM.
carleton is offline  
Old 03-14-15, 01:12 PM
  #85  
Hida Yanra
VeloSIRraptor
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Deschutes
Posts: 4,581
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Originally Posted by carleton View Post
So, I just ran across these 3.5 inch Kurt Kinetic Z-Rollers that fold into 3 pieces.


I still prefer 4.5 inch barrels, but if you like 3.5 inches, these are available. I like the fact that it folds into 3 pieces.
I have a set of these, traded my Kreitlers for them (don't ask), but I'm happily surprised with how good they are - quite nice.
Hida Yanra is offline  
Old 03-16-15, 10:00 PM
  #86  
nspace
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 80
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Originally Posted by carleton View Post
So, I just ran across these 3.5 inch Kurt Kinetic Z-Rollers that fold into 3 pieces.
I've been using these for about 3 months now and probably have about 20 hours on them. They are great, spin really smooth and are pretty easy to tote around to and from the track. The rollers do have a bit of mass to them. No complaints!
nspace is offline  
Old 04-21-15, 06:32 AM
  #87  
carleton
Elitist
Thread Starter
 
carleton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 15,575
Mentioned: 82 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1206 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 2 Times in 2 Posts
For those looking for longer stems, Specialized stems come in 140mm with angles as aggressive as -17 degrees.

Also, they use a shim system where you can tweak the angle set in the stem. It's really cool and very solid. I used this stem system on my Tarmac a while back as well as on my track bike at one time (I'd forgotten about this!).

The following ONLY works with Specialized Stems that are made for this system. This will not work with normal stems!

Here's how it works. Let's say you buy a 120mm +/- 17 degree stem. Your only options are to run it +17 degrees (pointing up) or -17 degrees (pointing down). That's it.

The way the Specialized Multi Stem system works is that they make the clamp area (where it clamps to the stem) wider and you insert angled shims to tweak the angle set in the stem. The shims look like this:



The shims come in:
0 degrees: does nothing
2 degrees: Adds or remove 2 degrees the chosen stem.
4 degrees: Adds or removes 4 degrees from the chosen stem

So, if you have all 3 shims, you get FIVE angles for a given stem position. Being that the stem I mentioned above is a "flip-flop" stem, if you flip it, you get ANOTHER FIVE angles. 10 angles total...for one stem.

So, for a +/- 17 degree stem, with 0, 2, and 4 degree shims, I get the following options:

With stem facing downwards:
-21 deg
-19 deg
-17 deg
-15 deg
-13 deg

With stem facing upwards
+13 deg
+15 deg
+17 deg
+19 deg
+21 deg

Like so:


If you started with a 4 degree stem:


12 degree stem:


24 degree stem:


One major downside to this system is that if you use any shim other than 0deg, the system changes the angle at which the stem attaches to the fork so you cannot use spacers above the stem. The stem must live at the top of your fork. You can have spacers below the stem...but none above.

Refer to the tech guide: http://service.specialized.com/colla...tion-Guide.pdf

So, if you are into tinkering with your fit...maybe consider this system. The stems are very inexpensive and I can attest that they are strong for sprint work. Kirk Whiteman (Kevin Mansker's coach) turned me on to these. He's also a super strong/fast guy in his own right.


Apparently Felt also has a similar system:


http://www.feltbicycles.com/USA/2015...lloy-Stem.aspx

I've never used these so I can't say if they are stiff or not.

Last edited by carleton; 04-21-15 at 07:02 AM.
carleton is offline  
Old 04-21-15, 06:38 AM
  #88  
carleton
Elitist
Thread Starter
 
carleton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 15,575
Mentioned: 82 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1206 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 2 Times in 2 Posts
And if you want to know what a different stem length or angle will do for your handlebar placement, use this site: Stem Chart
carleton is offline  
Old 04-22-15, 02:06 PM
  #89  
J HY
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 50
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Good info on the stems; I always forget that Specialized makes that. Brilliant, really.
J HY is offline  
Old 04-22-15, 06:40 PM
  #90  
taras0000
Senior Member
 
taras0000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: 43.2330941,-79.8022037,17
Posts: 1,673
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 305 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 4 Times in 4 Posts
You can grind down spacers, or cut tube stock on an angle to offset the eccentricity back to 0, allowing you to have spacers above and below. Machine shop can do this for you with some cheap aluminum tube stock and a bandsaw. If you have access to a mitre saw, you can throw a cutting wheel into it and cut your own spacers quite easily. What are the available angle changes on this system (+X/-X). I can probably knock this off with my adjustable chop saw.

Last edited by taras0000; 04-22-15 at 06:52 PM.
taras0000 is offline  
Old 04-22-15, 08:26 PM
  #91  
carleton
Elitist
Thread Starter
 
carleton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 15,575
Mentioned: 82 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1206 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Originally Posted by taras0000 View Post
You can grind down spacers, or cut tube stock on an angle to offset the eccentricity back to 0, allowing you to have spacers above and below. Machine shop can do this for you with some cheap aluminum tube stock and a bandsaw. If you have access to a mitre saw, you can throw a cutting wheel into it and cut your own spacers quite easily. What are the available angle changes on this system (+X/-X). I can probably knock this off with my adjustable chop saw.
That's a great idea actually. I'd only need 2 of them. One that is 2deg and one that is 4deg and that would cover all scenarios.
carleton is offline  
Old 04-22-15, 08:38 PM
  #92  
taras0000
Senior Member
 
taras0000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: 43.2330941,-79.8022037,17
Posts: 1,673
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 305 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Let me get some appropriate aluminum tube and I'll pm you when it's done. You running 1 1/8th fork? Steel I can probably do over the weekend.
taras0000 is offline  
Old 04-23-15, 08:38 AM
  #93  
carleton
Elitist
Thread Starter
 
carleton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 15,575
Mentioned: 82 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1206 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Originally Posted by taras0000 View Post
Let me get some appropriate aluminum tube and I'll pm you when it's done. You running 1 1/8th fork? Steel I can probably do over the weekend.
Yes, I'm running a standard fork. Alpina F04: Alpina F04 track fork | Retrogression

Thanks!
carleton is offline  
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
meyers66
Touring
10
03-20-16 06:22 AM
JonnyV
Mountain Biking
1
04-25-13 05:13 AM
cudak888
Classic & Vintage
23
05-11-12 05:36 PM
Treespeed
Advocacy & Safety
22
12-07-05 12:24 PM
nikos
Bicycle Mechanics
7
05-10-03 10:07 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.