Search
Notices
Fifty Plus (50+) Share the victories, challenges, successes and special concerns of bicyclists 50 and older. Especially useful for those entering or reentering bicycling.

Clip or not

Search this Thread

Old 08-05-23, 05:03 AM
Jtmav

Bikes: Trek Domane al5

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked 70 Times in 37 Posts
Clip or not

I am a relative newbie here especially with many of you posting great distances and pace. I was out yesterday for a ride and another cyclist passed me but stopped and commented that I was going quite fast given my sneakers and unclipped state. It made me wonder what the difference would be in speed between clipped or not clipped. As I approach my 72 birthday, with only 3 years or so cycling regularly and my fear of falling because of being clipped in, the gains, if any, probably would not convince me to change my routine. At this point in life it’s qualitative more than quantitative experiences. Just curious if anyone in the group has any data about how much faster being clipped in? I understand there are a lot of factors that can skew the difference but just an overall guess would be interesting to me.
Thanks
Old 08-05-23, 05:12 AM
skidder
Pennylane Splitter

Bikes: Yes

Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Quoted: 1804 Post(s)
Liked 1,444 Times in 993 Posts