Search
Notices
Singlespeed & Fixed Gear "I still feel that variable gears are only for people over forty-five. Isn't it better to triumph by the strength of your muscles than by the artifice of a derailer? We are getting soft...As for me, give me a fixed gear!"-- Henri Desgrange (31 January 1865 - 16 August 1940)

A Total Noob

Search this Thread

Old 01-16-17, 06:34 PM
theronin

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked 4 Times in 3 Posts
A Total Noob

Hi guys, I'm new to this forum, new to biking, and new to fixed gear as well lol.

Basically, I love to surf but because of a heart attack, I need to stay out of the water for a few months so in case something does happen, I'm not suffocating in water. I wanted to get back into biking but the only bike I had was this Schwinn from Target that was a hybrid road and mountain bike and the gears always felt sketchy. So I picked up this older but legit bike from a local shop that only had one gear. It reminded me of the bike I learned on growing up and at the price, I decided it was tough to lose.

When I showed to my friends, they laughed at me asking if I was going to be a "hipster snob." It was only after some very interesting google searching that I learned this was a "fixed gear" and that this is a pretty hardcore scene. I'm not too into the NYC messenger bag counter culture thing and really just want a simple bike.

It's a little big - I learned to measure a bike and I think this one is 55 cm which for me standing at 5'5", I am on tip toes with the bar touching my guys. I can lift it maybe an inch but then they are really touching my guys. I don't have problems stopping though I just lean it. But I may see if 650 sized wheels give me just a little more clearance. Otherwise, riding it feels awesome - reminds me of being a kid again ... but I can't do skids like before my knees are gonna explode lol. Thank goodness for that front break to take some pressure off.