Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Clydesdales/Athenas (200+ lb / 91+ kg)
Reload this Page >

New Rider wanting opinions on a "cheap" starter road bike

Search
Notices
Clydesdales/Athenas (200+ lb / 91+ kg) Looking to lose that spare tire? Ideal weight 200+? Frustrated being a large cyclist in a sport geared for the ultra-light? Learn about the bikes and parts that can take the abuse of a heavier cyclist, how to keep your body going while losing the weight, and get support from others who've been successful.

Search this Thread

Old 09-24-10, 08:52 AM
Rais

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

I'm new to cycling, and I know that it is something I want to get more into. I'm 5'10" and currently 250lbs. Obviously my main goal is to lose weight. As of now, I have been riding a NEXT Mountain Bike. I know it's a "piece", but it's all I have to use right now, so been doing what I can on it. I'm basically looking for advice on a good starter road bike, for around $500-$600 or so. That's about all I will be able to spend right now on a bike. I know road bikes can cost a lot more than that, which is why I thought I would post here to see if anyone had any insight on something that will give me the most bang for my buck, while I save for something better. I have been checking Craigslist everyday in my area, but there just isn't anything. Gotta love small town USA's. I have checked with my 1 local dealer, and they don't really have anything in that range right now.

Sorry for a wall of text, but just looking for some ideas from you guys. Thanks for any advice!
Old 09-24-10, 08:57 AM
dbikingman

Bikes: mountain bike, road bike

Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts