Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Touring
Reload this Page >

Is it time for a new bike?

Notices
Touring Have a dream to ride a bike across your state, across the country, or around the world? Self-contained or fully supported? Trade ideas, adventures, and more in our bicycle touring forum.

Old 08-19-19, 05:29 PM
SpecK

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked 5 Times in 4 Posts

Hi, I'm new to the forum and I'm hoping to get some help in deciding on keeping my old bike, or start looking for a new one.

This spring I got an itch to get back into biking and I pulled my trusted old (1993 I think) Gary Fisher Tassajara out from the back of the garage. This bike was a craigslist find a few years back and prior to this summer I had just been using it very sporadically on fairly short rides. As I started riding earlier this summer I also got an itch to look for a new bike, but I quite frankly got confused by all the options, so I decided to keep riding the Gary Fisher to gain more experience and hopefully figure out what kind of bike I need.

So I have spent a lot of time riding rail trails and towpaths and as I am now starting to get comfortable with going longer distances I am really leaning towards starting to do more bike touring and I want to at least do a multi day trip by next season. This would probably be fairly light touring as I'm looking at trails that have accommodations along the way.

I am no longer sure if I want to get a new bike as I really don't know if a different bike would make a huge difference, although the Tassajara has a few shortcomings.

So that's the backstory, now to the bike!

So the good things about riding the Tassajara:
- My seat height is good (I think) as I do not feel any fatigue or pain in my legs.