Search
Notices
Clydesdales/Athenas (200+ lb / 91+ kg) Looking to lose that spare tire? Ideal weight 200+? Frustrated being a large cyclist in a sport geared for the ultra-light? Learn about the bikes and parts that can take the abuse of a heavier cyclist, how to keep your body going while losing the weight, and get support from others who've been successful.

Customer service?

Search this Thread

Old 08-04-16, 09:49 AM
bittykitties

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Customer service?

Ok,

So I'm really new at everything biking. In the past I've simply gone to bike stores, bought bikes, and left. Never done any of my own maintenance/repairs, etc. (never fixed a flat even!)

Ok, well, I wanna reinvent myself, and figure the bicycle is a great launching-off point. So, I pull out our old bikes and look them over. My daughter's bike is in fine running condition, but the brake pads are rubbing on the wheel (rim brakes). My son's bike looks ok, except for 2 flat tires.

So, I go to my LBS (where I had bought both bikes previously), and ask if the guy (who is sitting behind the register, alone in the shop...) if he'd give me a quick tutorial on how to adjust the brakes so they won't rub the tire. His response was, "it took me 5 years to learn how to work on bikes, so I really couldn't show you how to do that". Well, ok.

So, I ask about the inner tubes for my son's bike, and he does get them out. I explain that his bike has bolts holding the wheels on, and could the shop sell me the tool to remove the bolts. Nope, have to go to the hardware store.

During this conversation (probably a total of 5-8 minutes elapse), he mentions twice that I might as well bring the bikes in. I explain that "what if I get a flat while out on the trail, it would be good for me to know how to do this".