Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Classic & Vintage
Reload this Page >

Repainting a bunch of fillet brazed Schwinns

Search
Notices
Classic & Vintage This forum is to discuss the many aspects of classic and vintage bicycles, including musclebikes, lightweights, middleweights, hi-wheelers, bone-shakers, safety bikes and much more.

Search this Thread

Old 03-04-22, 12:24 PM
Doug Fattic 
framebuilder

Mentioned: 50 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 615 Post(s)
Liked 1,916 Times in 656 Posts

In this subject thread I'm going to document the process of repainting a bunch of Schwinn fillet brazed frames. I've been involved for 22 years in a charity bicycle project in Ukraine. Over those years I've been donated a number of fillet brazed Schwinns (like the Super Sport). They have accumulated and now it is time to do something about them and get the money from their sales over to Ukraine. It makes no sense to spend money sending bikes with 27 X 1/4" tires. My day job is to teach framebuilding classes (I've even done some in Ukraine) but from time to time I teach frame painting classes as well. Usually the students for my painting classes are pro or semi-pro builders. I have 2 local just-retired guys taking my painting class now. I chose these Schwinns as painting projects for class. I have pair of early 70's yellow Super Sports - a ladies and a 24". We'll repaint them yellow again. I also have a 22" and a 24" Super Sport from 1965. One was candy blue and the other gold. That model year they didn't have a kickstand mount but did have down tube shifter bosses (instead of levers near the stem). These are fairly rare as they predate the 1970 bike boom. I have that 1976 Schwinn Superior I started another subject thread about. I'm going to paint it candy red as an example of how candies are done. I've got another early 70's 22" Super Sport C&V member Steve donated. It was that Robin's egg blue but of course I can now paint it any color. I have to consider what colors and ty