Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Fifty Plus (50+)
Reload this Page >

Listening while riding (music, etc)

Search
Notices
Fifty Plus (50+) Share the victories, challenges, successes and special concerns of bicyclists 50 and older. Especially useful for those entering or reentering bicycling.

Search this Thread

Old 05-28-06, 05:56 AM
Carusoswi

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

I think it would be neat to be able to listen to my favorite music as I ride (I'm a classical musician, but that's beside the point). My daughter bought me an iPod for Christmas and we shopped together for some open-air head phones (found a pair from Philips - good sound, and you can still hear stuff from the outside).

My problem is that, when riding at speed, not only does wind noise drown out the sound of the music (I could live with that - you can't have everything), but that same wind noise is so intense that I know it can be no good for my hearing (I am super sensitive to anything that will damage my ears).

The best solution that I've found so far is to wear a sweat band over the ear phones. I am convinced that it not only insulates against the wind, but redirects it in such a way that it doesn't produce so much noise in the phones. Unfortunately, I find the arrangement very uncomfortable - and, of course, I look like a dork who doesn't know to keep his head band on straight.

Has anyone else dealt with this and come up with a better solution.

I'm not expecting super fidelity on the bike - would just like to be able to include this other passion of mine as part of the biking activity.
Caruso
Old 05-28-06, 06:03 AM
DnvrFox
Banned.

Liked 12 Times in 10 Posts
Good morning, Carusowi

There have been a couple of folks who rigged up speakers of some sort mounted somewhere directly on the bike, rather than earphones. It has been described on the BFN, but I don't even know how to search for that.