Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Training & Nutrition
Reload this Page >

Beginner Training Program Tips (Road Cycling)

Search
Notices
Training & Nutrition Learn how to develop a training schedule that's good for you. What should you eat and drink on your ride? Learn everything you need to know about training and nutrition here.

Search this Thread

Old 05-04-02, 12:42 PM
ayon

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

Hi,

I am a total beginner road cyclist.

Could you guys give me a few training tips?

E.g. how often I should cycle, how far (I am REALLY unfit, haven't been exercising for 2 years) I should ride, etc.

Thanks in advance.

P.S. If possible, please express units in metric .
Old 05-04-02, 05:36 PM
phoenyix

Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Depending how far you are out of shape. First step would be to consult a Doctor, and explain what your plannig to do , and follow his advice to get in shape. When you do ride start out slow and easy. Don't worry too much about distance and speed. Keep it up daily, every so often try for a longer distance, and a higher speed. Don't up them too far, a little at a time when the ride gets easy. This will get you going with the least amount of problems.
Old 05-04-02, 07:59 PM
DnvrFox
Banned.

Liked 12 Times in 10 Posts
A couple of thoughts:

1. Any exercise done just for "fitness" and "to get in shape" is ultimately doomed to failure. You say you have not been exercising for two years? There must be a reason why. Did you not enjoy your previous exercises? Were they sort of forced, something you did to "keep in shape?" Ultimately, for one reason or another, the program failed, as you admit that you haven't done anything in two years. Which brings me to my point: You must exercise at something you enjoy and love doing. Bicycling, tennis, walking, running - it really does not matter as long as it is something you LIKE TO DO. Not something you force yourself to do.