Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Fitting Your Bike
Reload this Page >

First drop bar bike

Notices
Fitting Your Bike Are you confused about how you should fit a bike to your particular body dimensions? Have you been reading, found the terms Merxx or French Fit, and don’t know what you need? Every style of riding is different- in how you fit the bike to you, and the sizing of the bike itself. It’s more than just measuring your height, reach and inseam. With the help of Bike Fitting, you’ll be able to find the right fit for your frame size, style of riding, and your particular dimensions. Here ya’ go…..the location for everything fit related.

First drop bar bike

Old 09-14-20, 07:06 AM
Milton Keynes

Bikes: Trek 1100 road bike, Roadmaster gravel/commuter/beater mountain bike

Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2281 Post(s)
Liked 1,710 Times in 936 Posts
First drop bar bike

Hi all,

I've been riding a hybrid and a mountain bike for the past 5 years, but I recently got an actual road bike. This is the first time I've ridden a bike with drop bars in about 30 years.

I did a 25 mile ride on Saturday, and close to the end of the ride I could feel a dull ache in my shoulders and upper back just below the neck. Does this mean I need to move the seat forward, back, higher/lower? Higher lower handlebars? I did frequently change hand positions, so I know it's not that. On my hybrid I used to get this kind of ache from using the same hand position all the time on long rides, and after I got bar ends I never had that problem any more.

Just for the record, the bike does fit me, it's a 54 cm bike and I'm 6 feet tall. I have the seat up high enough to where my legs are just slightly bent with the pedals at the lowest position.

Any help appreciated.
Old 09-14-20, 09:54 AM
KC8QVO