Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Classic & Vintage
Reload this Page >

1995 Bianchi Eros conversion

Search
Notices
Classic & Vintage This forum is to discuss the many aspects of classic and vintage bicycles, including musclebikes, lightweights, middleweights, hi-wheelers, bone-shakers, safety bikes and much more.

Search this Thread

Old 10-23-20, 03:24 PM
kmman

Bikes: 2020 Giant Defy, 1995 Bianchi Eros, 1994 Marin Pine Mountain

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

Hi Folks, new to the Forum here. I have been ring a 1995 Eros for 30 years and recently got a new road bike. I am considering converting the Eros to a commuter. I'd like to simplify and go from the triple chainring / 8 speed Mirage to a 1x9 or 1x10. Would this require swapping out the entire groupset (brifters, chainring, dérailleur, cassette, maybe even rear wheel) as opposed to just the chainring and cassette? Any advice would be appreciated.
Old 10-23-20, 03:44 PM
bikemig 

Bikes: A bunch of old bikes and a few new ones

Mentioned: 178 Post(s)
Quoted: 5888 Post(s)
Liked 3,471 Times in 2,079 Posts
Why not just keep it cheap? I'd keep what you have and focus on what you need to make the bike suitable for commuting.
Old 10-23-20, 03:45 PM
3speedslow

Bikes: A few

Mentioned: 117 Post(s)
Quoted: 1942 Post(s)
Liked 1,073 Times in 637 Posts
Welcome to BF! Thank You for joining the commuter world!

Your Q?, really is so many ways to tackle this. Keep everything and just lock the front derailleur down or maybe take the drivetrain off, sell it or keep it. Buy a 9 or 10 set of stuff you need then build.

MHO, keep what you got and use it. But clean it every Night! We commuters are a dirty lot!
Old 10-23-20, 03:48 PM
3speedslow

Bikes: A few

Mentioned: 117 Post(s)
Quoted: 1942 Post(s)
Liked 1,073 Times in 637 Posts
OMG! Most important question you should be asking... what fenders should I be using?
Old 10-23-20, 03:53 PM
tricky 

Mentioned: 50 Post(s)