Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Touring
Reload this Page >

Belt Drives in Winter?

Search
Notices
Touring Have a dream to ride a bike across your state, across the country, or around the world? Self-contained or fully supported? Trade ideas, adventures, and more in our bicycle touring forum.

Belt Drives in Winter?

Search this Thread

Old 02-15-18, 10:09 AM
hfbill

Bikes: Trek 520, Haro Flightline 29er MTB

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 69 Post(s)
Liked 11 Times in 9 Posts
Belt Drives in Winter?

Just looking for real life experiences with belt drives in winter cold & snow etc.

Thanks,

-b
Old 02-15-18, 12:00 PM
Rob_E

Bikes: Downtube 8H, Surly Troll

Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Quoted: 303 Post(s)
Liked 22 Times in 21 Posts
Don't get much snow around here, but my spare bike has a belt drive, and I have no issues with it year round.
Old 02-15-18, 10:01 PM
dh024

Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Quoted: 97 Post(s)
Liked 7 Times in 5 Posts
I have no first-hand knowledge, but my best friend hated his in the snow and ice (enough that he got rid of the belt system and replaced it with standard chain, cog, and chainring). I'll be honest, I don't remember his exact problem, but I do remember his bike spending long parts of two winters in the shop.
Old 02-16-18, 02:16 PM
CreakingCrank

Bikes: Two. One daily rider. One with detachment issues.

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 53 Post(s)
Liked 2 Times in 2 Posts
As I understand things, the earlier versions of Gates belts struggled with snow/mud/etc., as the cogs had flanges on them to keep the belt from slipping off. Debris would build up. Then they removed the inner flange in attempt to allow debris to evacuate, with better results. Finally they moved the flange to the center and incorporated a grove down the center of the belt to accommodate the flange. That seemed to do the trick. I have limited experience in snow/mud with my belt, but I don't see how the CDX version would have a problem with build up.