Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Bicycle Mechanics
Reload this Page >

Beginner help with some Tool selection

Search
Notices
Bicycle Mechanics Broken bottom bracket? Tacoed wheel? If you're having problems with your bicycle, or just need help fixing a flat, drop in here for the latest on bicycle mechanics & bicycle maintenance.

Search this Thread

Old 03-16-21, 06:38 PM
Freddie60

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

Hi,
I'm just getting started with maintaining all my bikes. My wife and I both have a gravel / road bike, a mtn bike and a fat bike. One of the gravel bikes is Carbon. We are looking to get some advice on some of the tools we need.

Torque Wrench:
Most of the smaller wrenches show 2 - 10 N-m up to 2 - 24 N-m. What range would be sufficient?
Also allen keys that come with the wrench. What sizes should we make sure we have? Most are either 2 - 10, 2 - 8 mm or 3 - 10 mm.
Any Std Torx keys that we should have. Most wrenches come with a combo of T-10, T-25 or T-30.

Chain Whip:
How do we make sure we get the right chain whip? Not sure what determines which one to get. Two of the bikes are 12 speed shimano. 3 of the bikes are 11 speed Shimano. The last bike is 11 speed Sun Race derailler.

Spoke Keys:
Any preference for one style over the other?

thanks,
Old 03-16-21, 07:55 PM
cxwrench

Bikes: lots

Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Quoted: 1958 Post(s)
Liked 2,932 Times in 1,489 Posts