Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Triathlon
Reload this Page >

How to lighten my carbon fiber triathalon bike?

Search
Notices
Triathlon Swim / Bike / Run your thing? Drop in our new triathlon forum for the latest in training & gear. From beginner to expert, and sprint to ironman.

Search this Thread

Old 10-22-11, 07:22 PM
jimmyw

Bikes: 2009 Quintana Roo Seduza

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

Hi,
I've been competing in triathlons now for about 2 years as a serious age group contender on a 2009 quintana roo seduza. I would like race with a lighter bike without going crazy and getting a brand new cervelo p4 or something. I like my bike but feel that the components are what brings the weight of my large (58) bike up to around 20 lbs despite the lightweight carbon fiber frame. Does anyone know which components should be upgraded on my stock seduza (specs below) to reduce the overall weight?

Groupset Shimano Dura Ace Mix
Front Derailleur Shimano 105
Rear Derailleur Shimano Ultegra SL
Shifters Shimano Dura Ace bar ends
Crank FSA Omega Compact, 50x34 T
Bottom Bracket FSA MegaExo
Cassette Shimano 105
Chain Shimano 105
Brakes TRP R310
Levers Tektro RX4.1
General Specs
Frame Quintana Roo Seduza Carbon frame
Fork Quintana Roo aero carbon fork
Headset FSA Orbit IS
Basebar VisionTech Alloy basebar
Aerobar VisionTech Alloy aerobar
Stem Quintana Roo, 26.0
Seat Post Alloy aero
Saddle Quintana Roo triathlon
Pedals N/A (I use shimano ultegra 6700 pedals)
WHEELSET
Wheelset Alex 220 clincher
Tires Continental Ultra Race
Old 10-22-11, 09:25 PM
Dalai

Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Quoted: 89 Post(s)
Liked 8 Times in 6 Posts
Weight is irrelevant in 95% of triathlons, so I personally wouldn't be bothered about the total weight.