Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > General Cycling Discussion
Reload this Page >

Ladies, what about street harassment?

Search
Notices
General Cycling Discussion Have a cycling related question or comment that doesn't fit in one of the other specialty forums? Drop on in and post in here! When possible, please select the forum above that most fits your post!

Search this Thread

Old 05-30-14, 11:20 AM
jade408

Bikes: Working on replacing my stolen Soma Buena Vista Mixte

Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 417 Post(s)
Liked 95 Times in 44 Posts

I was chatting with some friends about this the other day. I am new to utility biking, getting a bike just a few months ago. I am not so new to "street harassment." Sadly it has been well over 20 years for me, and I am in my 30s.

I am well aware that street harassment varies significantly for women based on ethnic background, body shape, perceived attractiveness, and location. There is a big range. I am sure for some of you nothing happens, and for others it happens all the time. Obviously there is a thin line between flirting and catcalls, and some people think we should find this attention "flattering." But most of the time it is annoying, and it can easily veer into scary. Many incidents start off pretty harmless and quicky escalate. I've been cursed out, followed, yelled out. And not once has any passerby chimed in to tell the jerk to pipe down.

So I thought it would be interesting to share experiences here.

One thing I have found interesting since I started biking around town, the catcalls and comments are infinitely more pleasant than what I get when walking around. In fact some are downright clever. Mostly stuff like "Can I go on a bike ride with you." "Do you have space for me on your bike?"

It is interesting how much it has differed for me, what are your experiences?
Old 05-30-14, 11:28 AM
no1mad 
Thunder Whisperer

Bikes: '06 Kona Smoke

Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Quoted: 275 Post(s)