Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Cyclocross and Gravelbiking (Recreational)
Reload this Page >

I'm a noob, is there crankset made specifically for cyclocross?

Search
Notices
Cyclocross and Gravelbiking (Recreational) This has to be the most physically intense sport ever invented. It's high speed bicycle racing on a short off road course or riding the off pavement rides on gravel like : "Unbound Gravel". We also have a dedicated Racing forum for the Cyclocross Hard Core Racers.

Search this Thread

Old 04-09-18, 08:57 PM
Obeast
100% Certified Beast

Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 273 Post(s)
Liked 15 Times in 13 Posts

I ride a 26 wheel mtb frame with road components except for the crankset which I keep mtb. The crankset is for 8 speed and my entire drivetrain is 2016 tiagra 4700. I have trouble making the front derailleur move back and forth enough to shift from the 32 chainring down to the 22 chainring. Do I need cyclocross specific crankset to get the left shifter to shift properly? Is the bottom bracket axle of different length to road and mtb?
Old 04-09-18, 09:15 PM
jsigone
got the climbing bug

Bikes: one for everything

Mentioned: 82 Post(s)
Quoted: 632 Post(s)
Liked 908 Times in 273 Posts
Which size bottom bracket shell are you using, match the cranks spindle length to the BB shell.

Typically roadie cranks are same length as CX crank spindles. Which are narrower then MTBs aka closer to the frame.

You may want to try a MTB front derailleur to get the pull ratio correct. Maybe some one here know more or go down to the bike shop and ask, bring bike so they can see the problem.
Rule #10 // It never gets easier, you just go faster.
Old 04-10-18, 10:17 AM
Tim_Iowa

Bikes: 1997 Rivendell Road Standard 650b conversion (tourer), 1988 Schwinn Project KOM-10 (gravel/tour), 2013 Foundry Auger disc (CX/gravel), 2016 Cannondale Fat CAAD 2 (MTB/winter), 2011 Cannondale Flash 29er Lefty (trail MTB)

Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Quoted: 167 Post(s)