Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Classic & Vintage
Reload this Page >

Good, reliable friction FD to replace Suntour Superbe Pro?

Notices
Classic & Vintage This forum is to discuss the many aspects of classic and vintage bicycles, including musclebikes, lightweights, middleweights, hi-wheelers, bone-shakers, safety bikes and much more.

Old 12-25-19, 04:42 PM
Randybb

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

I've got an 80s Schwinn lightweight that I've been using as a touring rig for a couple years now. It still has most of the original suntour superbe pro components. Last year I accidentally stripped out the cable clamp on the FD and decided to grab a used one on ebay. Its a circa 1985 superbe pro friction FD with the built-on clamp. Looked to be in great condition but must have been well used because on a recent ride I snapped it right in half, classic fatigue.

So I'm wondering since it's primarily a touring bike now, I want something a little more reliable and don't want to shell out for such an expensive vintage part. What FD models should I look out for? I definitely am sticking with friction.
Old 12-25-19, 04:50 PM
BikeWonder

Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Quoted: 160 Post(s)
Liked 75 Times in 52 Posts
My +1 for Suntour ARx or Suntour Cyclone FD. Both really light and good for a 3 ring crankset/touring.
I've read the Suntour Mountech FD is also just as good.
Between those three I think you're set.
Likes For BikeWonder:
Old 12-25-19, 04:56 PM
deux jambes

Mentioned: 64 Post(s)
Quoted: 535 Post(s)
Liked 346 Times in 196 Posts
Seeing how the Superbe Pro is rated for a relatively small max ring difference (14t) between large & small chainrings:

Superb Pro FD: VeloBase

...and assuming yours picked up, moved, and dropped the chain efficiently with across your front gears, it seems that you could choose from many front derailleurs. Perhaps a Cyclone, ARx, Blue Line (BL), etc.