Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Bicycle Mechanics
Reload this Page >

Brake levers, I don't know what to call them

Search
Notices
Bicycle Mechanics Broken bottom bracket? Tacoed wheel? If you're having problems with your bicycle, or just need help fixing a flat, drop in here for the latest on bicycle mechanics & bicycle maintenance.

Search this Thread

Old 04-28-11, 02:20 PM
YokeyDokey
DisMember

Bikes: 2010 Fuji Roubaix, 1984 Schwinn World Sport

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

My old Schwinn has dual brake levers -vertical and horizontal. I almost always use the horizontal lever because my hands are on the horizontal portion of the bars. So I bought a new bike; it only has the vertical levers and I want the horizontal ones too. Is this a typical add-on? What is this called? I'm new to this level of bicycles. If it was a sailboat I could tell you anything. Snatchblocks? What do you want to know about them?

My new bike has SRAM Carbon double-tap levers.
Old 04-28-11, 02:32 PM
JReade

Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Quoted: 95 Post(s)
Liked 3 Times in 3 Posts
The levers you are referring to are "extension" levers, introduced during the bike boom, as people were buying bikes, but then they found out riding in the drops was uncomfortable for them. So they rode on top of the bars, and had trouble reaching the brakes in emergencies. Check sheldons site for more info. You can't get them anymore, but you can get interrupt levers that would address what you want.
Old 04-28-11, 02:48 PM
YokeyDokey
DisMember

Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Thanks, JReade - I'm educated. They also call them "cross" or "crosstop" levers. I wonder why they were discontinued - they work great on my old Schwinn. Learned something interesting (to me, anyway) in the process: The SRAM levers alone on my new Fuji retail for over $360 - but I got the whole bike for under $900. Splain?
Old 04-28-11, 02:53 PM
BCRider