Search
Notices
Cyclocross and Gravelbiking (Recreational) This has to be the most physically intense sport ever invented. It's high speed bicycle racing on a short off road course or riding the off pavement rides on gravel like : "Unbound Gravel". We also have a dedicated Racing forum for the Cyclocross Hard Core Racers.

new fork opions

Search this Thread

Old 11-23-15, 06:16 PM
RockiesDad

Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 220 Post(s)
Liked 31 Times in 17 Posts
new fork opions

Newbie here with a "new to me" 2011 Specialized Tricross from CL. Pretty decent bike that is just my size at 49cm. But the only thing is that the fork has been replaced with a Kona P2 steely. I've read that there was a recall with the original carbon fork and for whatever reason the original owner did not get a carbon replacement but this P2 fork. Anyway, I don't care for it (handling and weight wise) and wanted to change it out for maybe a carbon one. Plus it's not very pretty...

My question is would I feel a difference if I do swap it out and will one of these fit? I think if I can get one for $200 then I would still be ahead vs getting a brand new bike. Here are my choices:

Carbon CX Elite - Carver Bikes

Amazon.com : Ritchey Comp Cross Fork with Eyelets, Carbon, 1-1/8-Inch : Bike Forks : Sports & Outdoors

Easton EC90 x Carbon Fork 700c 1 1 8" Cyclocross 45mm Rake CNT Matte New in Box | eBay

Winwood Dusty Carbon Cross Fork Canti Only 1 1 8 inch Aluminum Steerer Brand New | eBay

https://www.amazon.com/Nashbar-Carbon...BT8B3D7WAHEZ45

The Carver is my first choice. My guess is that the P2 is a little over 1000gm.

Is it worth it? Will not be racing or anything punishing to me or the bike.

TIA...
Old 11-23-15, 07:24 PM
Andy_K 

Bikes: Yes

Mentioned: 525 Post(s)
Quoted: 3230 Post(s)
Liked 3,868 Times in 1,439 Posts