Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Road Cycling
Reload this Page >

Pedals...

Notices
Road Cycling “It is by riding a bicycle that you learn the contours of a country best, since you have to sweat up the hills and coast down them. Thus you remember them as they actually are, while in a motor car only a high hill impresses you, and you have no such accurate remembrance of country you have driven through as you gain by riding a bicycle.” -- Ernest Hemingway

Pedals...

Old 09-16-19, 10:42 AM
Badbird2000

Bikes: Litespeed

Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked 15 Times in 6 Posts
Pedals...

So, hello all. I am the newest newbie here. Not new to cycling, but I have been out of the game a long time. I just put a deposit down on a used Litespeed at a local bike shop over the weekend. I sold my last bike (2003 LeMond Zurich) in about 2005. That bike had Time pedals, the only set of clip-in pedals I have used. Before that, my previous bike had toe clips. Yeah, i'm old...lol. So, the bike I am buying has pedals, but I don't have shoes. I'm not totally sure what kind of pedals they are. I will find out, obviously. So, I guess I am trying to brush up on the latest shoe and pedal technology. What do you like about what you have, what do you hate..

And if there is a better place to put this, please do. Or, slap me in the head and say, hey, go look here you big dummy.

Thanks!
Wayne
Old 09-16-19, 10:58 AM
RedBullFiXX

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 73 Post(s)
Liked 41 Times in 33 Posts
I've found Shimano shoes and pedals the best all around for fit, durability, cost.
Mtn bike type easier to walk in, road type sleeker looking, both very easy to click in and out of

Try before you buy
Old 09-16-19, 11:01 AM
eduskator

Bikes: SL8 Pro, TCR beater

Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Quoted: 957 Post(s)
Liked 562 Times in 423 Posts
There are two types of clips: SPD & SPD-SL. The first one is intented for ''all-around'' use while the other one is intended for road usage.