Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Recumbent
Reload this Page >

starter bent

Search
Notices
Recumbent What IS that thing?! Recumbents may be odd looking, but they have many advantages over a "wedgie" bicycle. Discuss the in's and out's recumbent lifestyle in the recumbent forum.

starter bent

Search this Thread

Old 08-16-09, 11:25 PM
mrdc

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
starter bent

hi newbie here.
I want a bent, looking for a cheap one, but still useable.
I saw the walmart semi-recumbent, but it has small tires.
Can it accept a bigger rear wheel?
I like the look of the actionbents.
I like the uss better than oss.
Also found a bike-E.

So it's wally, actionbent or bike E.

Any opinions?

Thanks
Old 08-17-09, 05:53 AM
aikigreg
Recumbent Ninja

Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Not the wally if you can avoid it, and are you sure you want uss? They don't turn as well as oss. Other than that, if you're sure, actionbents can be very good value, especially if you can be your own mechanic and put it together. There are sometimes problems with missing parts and such but if you can work it out you're good.
Old 08-17-09, 08:47 AM
layedback1

Bikes: RANS Stratus and a Mountain bike

Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I would check for a used RANS Tailwind. It is a fantastic recumbent like to start on. I did, and loved it and showed me that recumbents are the only way to go. BTW I have moved on to a new RANS Stratus LE.
Old 08-17-09, 09:14 AM
jeffh129

Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Originally Posted by mrdc
hi newbie here.
I want a bent, looking for a cheap one, but still useable.
I saw the walmart semi-recumbent, but it has small tires.
Can it accept a bigger rear wheel?
I like the look of the actionbents.
I like the uss better than oss.
Also found a bike-E.

So it's wally, actionbent or bike E.

Any opinions?

Thanks