Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Folding Bikes
Reload this Page >

Brompton- Switching to 39T, noob questions

Notices
Folding Bikes Discuss the unique features and issues of folding bikes. Also a great place to learn what folding bike will work best for your needs.

Old 10-09-19, 10:33 AM
fishgirlcycles

Bikes: Liv BeLiv 1 (2018), Mosaic GT-2 (custom, 2019), Brompton S6L (2018)

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

Hello all. I currently have a 2018 S6L with the -12% gearing. I'd like to try changing to the 39T chainring since I live in a hilly area (13% just to get out of the neighborhood), plus I find that I hardly ever use it in the third gear right now because the resistance is too high for the cadence I like to keep.

Thank you to everyone who's done posts and videos showing this process already--they've been really helpful. But, I'm a total noob when it comes to wrenching. I have two questions:
1) For the chainring, the important numbers are that it needs to be a 39T, 5-bolt style, 130mm BCD?
2) The chain for Bromptons is a 3/32" size? I'm confused on what speed of chain I need. If I go with for example, a Shimano Ultegra 39T 130 BCD chainring that says it's for a 10-speed, can I get a 10-speed chain or do I want an 8-speed chain?

Thanks!
Old 10-09-19, 01:52 PM
2_i 

Bikes: Trek 730 (quad), 720 & 830, Bike Friday NWT, Brompton M36R & M6R, Dahon HAT060 & HT060, ...

Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Quoted: 834 Post(s)
Liked 332 Times in 247 Posts
Look whether you can find a ring with a chainguard if you ever want to ride in long pants. Yes, you need 39T, 5-bolt, unless you decide to change the right crank too. It does not matter in practice what speed chainring you get. The chain still has to work with the rear sprockets, so you should not turn to a more narrow chain. If the chain is wider than the most narrow chain that the front ring can accommodate, you are fine.
Likes For 2_i:
Old 10-10-19, 07:01 PM
1nterceptor