Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Commuting
Reload this Page >

Just got back from the doctor...

Notices
Commuting Bicycle commuting is easier than you think, before you know it, you'll be hooked. Learn the tips, hints, equipment, safety requirements for safely riding your bike to work.

Old 01-30-06, 11:15 AM
mycoatl
Sasquatch Crossing

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

...and I need to get on my bike rain or shine.

No more of this occasional commuting crap. I'm in law school so I sit on my ass all day long, and it'll only get worse when I'm an attorney. I need to get more active, drop 50 pounds and get my cholesterol in order (holy freeky triglycerides, Batman!).

Anyone else on this forum get the "wake up call" and get serious about commuting?

Any good motivating stories about changing your body, health, and life?
Old 01-30-06, 11:31 AM
DataJunkie

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Hitting 200lbs did it for me.
I'm 5'10" with a thin build. That was way too heavy for me.

I do not want my child to sit around the house doing nothing. Rather than being a hypocrite, I decided to lead by example. Not that a toddler needs help being active....
Old 01-30-06, 11:35 AM
rule

Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Sure...lots of us. Go for it!
Old 01-30-06, 11:43 AM
ahpook
dirtbag roadie

Bikes: Della Santa Corsa Speciale -- Kish custom -- Santa Cruz Stigmata -- Niner Air 9 Carbon

Liked 1 Time in 1 Post
search the forum for 'weight loss' -- there have been some darn good threads w/ sound nutritional and exercise advice, plus a few downright inspirational stories.

short answer: go for it.
Old 01-30-06, 11:44 AM
ctoddrun
Back in the game...

Bikes: 1985 Trek 400; 1999 Specialized Rock Hopper (rigid, slicks); 2007 Crosscheck

Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts