Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > General Cycling Discussion
Reload this Page >

Painful groin issue

Notices
General Cycling Discussion Have a cycling related question or comment that doesn't fit in one of the other specialty forums? Drop on in and post in here! When possible, please select the forum above that most fits your post!

Painful groin issue

Old 07-30-19, 08:34 PM
strohman

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Painful groin issue

I have been an active cyclist for a number of years, both on the road and in spin classes during the colder months. I never had a real problem with pain in my groin. I got out of the habit and haven't ridden in over 2 years. I just started riding a spin bike at home to start getting back in shape. I'm wearing bibs when I ride but after 20 or 30 minutes I'm getting a very painful tingling in my groin. Almost like when your foot goes to sleep but worse! I definitely wouldn't call this numbness but very painful.

I have dealt with a painful butt when getting used to the seat in the past, and I know that's something that goes away in time. But this is something much worse and I'm not sure how to deal with it. I'm thinking about changing the seat on the bike, but not sure if that's the answer.

I find a lot of stuff online about "numb nuts" but nothing the describes the pain I am feeling. Maybe this is the same thing but I'm just not sure.
Old 07-30-19, 09:31 PM
big chainring 

Mentioned: 17 Post(s)
Quoted: 746 Post(s)
Liked 718 Times in 347 Posts
Stretch your hamstrings. I get upper adductor/groin pain if my hamstrings are tight.
Old 07-31-19, 06:01 AM
indyfabz

Mentioned: 210 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18319 Post(s)
Liked 15,289 Times in 7,228 Posts
Back after 14 years with a private area pain post as his third ever. Things that make you go "Hmmmm?"
Likes For indyfabz:
Old 07-31-19, 06:20 AM
gregf83 

Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Quoted: 1186 Post(s)
Liked 289 Times in 177 Posts