Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Bicycle Mechanics
Reload this Page >

Professionally and permanently corrosion proofing a steel bike (any engineers?)

Search
Notices
Bicycle Mechanics Broken bottom bracket? Tacoed wheel? If you're having problems with your bicycle, or just need help fixing a flat, drop in here for the latest on bicycle mechanics & bicycle maintenance.

Search this Thread

Old 07-01-11, 10:43 AM
apete2

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

Hello, I have been here a while but just registered. I am an engineer who works in a plating shop and loves to ride in the winter. The last few years I kept my bike on the back of the car for the whole winter and the salt spray was not kind to it at all. The bike is a 1995 Specialized stumpjumper that has been converted to a hybrid.

My plan for finishing the bike is as followed:

1)20 micron electrogalvanized (zinc plate)
2)iron phosphating to prep for painting and coat the inside of the tubes
3)2 coats Polyester powder coat
4)1 coat clear Polyester powder coat
5)Oil the inside of the tubes with rust prevention oil

Now this will take care of the frame, but there are several other weak areas:
1)Replace all hardware with type 316 stainless steel, we use that in the shop for heavy duty chloride resistance, a test coupon on the back of my car showed no rust
2)Fill all brazing holes in frame with Lab-metal before powder coating
3)Black or yellow zinc plate the chain (worked well last year), all zinc gone but no red rust

Any experiences with stainless brake cables? I dont know what alloy they are
What about corrosion resistant rims? After two years they always develop stress cracks from chloride pitting near the spokes and I need new rims.

Please don't say keep my bike inside, this is also partially a game, to see if I can beat the elements.
Old 07-01-11, 10:49 AM
clasher

Mentioned: 16 Post(s)
Quoted: 229 Post(s)
Liked 148 Times in 103 Posts