Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > General Cycling Discussion
Reload this Page >

A Tale of Two Pumps

Notices
General Cycling Discussion Have a cycling related question or comment that doesn't fit in one of the other specialty forums? Drop on in and post in here! When possible, please select the forum above that most fits your post!

A Tale of Two Pumps

Old 06-22-19, 12:27 PM
scotton
noodly appendage

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked 35 Times in 18 Posts
A Tale of Two Pumps

I've been using the Topeak Road Morph G for many years, I actually have 3 of them. I've never had an issue with the pump, but based on the size and weight I thought I would try something different for my road bike. So I went with the Lezyne Sport Drive HP. Much smaller and lighter.
Then I got to thinking. Smaller and lighter is generally a good thing, but I wonder how the Lezyne would do with my 40mm gravel tires. Note: I am still rocking tubes.

The Road Morph G weighs 7.7 ounces (with a couple of wraps of duct tape around the barrel).
The Lezyne Sport Drive HP weighs 2.7 ounces.

So I did a little test and it took the Lezyne 2 minutes 15 seconds to get my gravel tire up to 40 PSI.
The Road Morph took 2 minutes flat.
The Lezyne got a little warm, but never changed in pumping effort.
The Road Morph didn't change temperature but got harder to pump from 30 to 40 PSI.

So, for being a third of a pound lighter and much smaller, I'm going to order a Lezyne for my gravel bike. I realize that both of these pumps are designed around higher pressure, lower volume road tires, but I still feel it was apples to apples. I'll be ordering the same high pressure pump rather than the high volume pump for my gravel bike because sometimes I ride this bike with skinny tires on the road, and the HP pump works fine for low pressure tires but the HV pump does not do as well with high pressure tires.