Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Classic & Vintage
Reload this Page >

Noobie's Search for a Road Bike

Search
Notices
Classic & Vintage This forum is to discuss the many aspects of classic and vintage bicycles, including musclebikes, lightweights, middleweights, hi-wheelers, bone-shakers, safety bikes and much more.

Search this Thread

Old 06-20-12, 03:46 AM
PapaGanoosh

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

I wanted to purchase a road bike for short commutes and possibly start cycling as a hobby. I'm a student, so I'd like to save as much as possible. I started browsing craigslist. I'm around 5'9 to 5'10 and through some searching

I found a road bike that is pretty cheap. Price is $40 but poster says it requires "tuning, new tires, etc". Frame size is not specified but I sent an email inquiring him about it. Now, I don't know how to do any of the mechanical work, so I'm wondering if anyone has an estimate of what it would cost for a full tuneup of a bike in this condition. I live in Vancouver btw.

Here is a picture of the bike:

There is also another one that is $80:

Old 06-20-12, 04:07 AM
aussiepug

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Others will chime in - as it looks to me

Peugeot is too small for you and in pretty worn condition.
Norco is in much better overall condition and is about your size.

Long story short - spend the extra $40 - buy the norco and learn how to keep her on the road.

I love Peugeots (have ridden then for 20 years +) but that one is not the right one for you.
Old 06-20-12, 04:09 AM
prettyshady

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Originally Posted by PapaGanoosh
I wanted to purchase a road bike for short commutes and possibly start cycling as a hobby. I'm a student, so I'd like to save as much as possible. I started browsing craigslist. I'm around 5'9 to 5'10 and through some searching