Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Bicycle Mechanics
Reload this Page >

Spoke length check

Notices
Bicycle Mechanics Broken bottom bracket? Tacoed wheel? If you're having problems with your bicycle, or just need help fixing a flat, drop in here for the latest on bicycle mechanics & bicycle maintenance.

Spoke length check

Old 02-12-20, 04:21 AM
stansb

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked 1 Time in 1 Post
Spoke length check

Hi guys. I got wtb frequency i19 rims and shimano slx m7000 hubs that need to be laced up. Prowheelbuilder gives me 274 and 276 mm spokes. This is my first build and i could use a confirm on these spoke lenghts. ERD measures at 565 mm and flange diameters go at 44/45 mm. So basically i can confirm the input info from prowheelbuilder. Prob is that when i try to cross spokes (3 cross build) the spoke that crosses the other 3 barely reaches the rim hole. So my question is did i get the wrong spoke lenghts or is the lacing the problem?
Old 02-12-20, 04:59 AM
alo

Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Quoted: 529 Post(s)
Liked 255 Times in 185 Posts
I am not an expert in this field, but the spoke lengths are probably correct.

I suggest, for your early builds, just do it the same as ordinary wheels. Don't try anything fancy until you get more experience. You can look at an ordinary wheel, and copy it. There are also youtube videos, you may want to watch for tips from the experts.
Old 02-12-20, 05:31 AM
tomtomtom123

Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Quoted: 350 Post(s)
Liked 122 Times in 90 Posts
You can use these 2 sites:
https://kstoerz.com/freespoke/
This one gives the stretch amount. click on "log" to read the stretch.
https://www.wheelpro.co.uk/spokecalc/
I don't know your hub dimensions, but using a few examples from the freespoke database, it comes out 275.1-275.6mm and 273.5-274.0mm, with 32 spokes and 3 cross.
You are sure that the ERD is 565mm? DId you measure it yourself? Is it the 584mm or 622mm rim?