Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Touring
Reload this Page >

What pedals are you running?

Notices
Touring Have a dream to ride a bike across your state, across the country, or around the world? Self-contained or fully supported? Trade ideas, adventures, and more in our bicycle touring forum.

Old 03-11-12, 02:12 AM
strangebrou

Bikes: 2010 Cannondale Supersix Hi-Mod, 1987 Centurion Ironman Expert, 1984 Trek 520, 1981 Peugeot beater

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

Hey everyone. I am looking to get a LHT in the next month and have not yet made a decision about pedals. I am new to touring, and I am coming from a triathlon background, so most of my cycling as been with road clipless pedals. That being said, I am not really interested in getting recommendations on what I should get, but rather find out what everyone is running.

What pedals are you running and why? A little bit of perspective from the experienced tourers could help me (and others) make their decision.

Thanks!
Old 03-11-12, 07:13 AM
brentirvine

Bikes: Raleigh Olympian, Trek 2100, Cannondale F1000SL, Dahon Speed TR

Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
At home: road bike (Look), touring bike (spd), ATB (spd) and Folder (platform - soon to be spd).

On tour: I leave the spd pedals at home and put on pedals with clips. My theory is that if anything goes slightly awry on the road I can sort out a clip/strap more than a faulty spd. Furthermore, I do not like walking around with spd clips, nor do I want to tour with an extra pair of shoes for walking.

B
Old 03-11-12, 07:33 AM
Tourist in MSN

Bikes: 1961 Ideor, 1966 Perfekt 3 Speed AB Hub, 1994 Bridgestone MB-6, 2006 Airnimal Joey, 2009 Thorn Sherpa, 2013 Thorn Nomad MkII, 2015 VO Pass Hunter, 2017 Lynskey Backroad, 2017 Raleigh Gran Prix, 1980s Bianchi Mixte on a trainer. Others are now gone.

Mentioned: 47 Post(s)
Quoted: 3452 Post(s)
Liked 1,452 Times in 1,131 Posts