Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Singlespeed & Fixed Gear
Reload this Page >

How do i convert my old 70s varsity shwinn into a fixie???

Search
Notices
Singlespeed & Fixed Gear "I still feel that variable gears are only for people over forty-five. Isn't it better to triumph by the strength of your muscles than by the artifice of a derailer? We are getting soft...As for me, give me a fixed gear!"-- Henri Desgrange (31 January 1865 - 16 August 1940)

Search this Thread

Old 03-10-12, 06:38 PM
martincano15

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

I have a 70s varsity shwinn i bought from craigslist.
i was wondering how do i convert it into a fixie. And what ill need
im new to building bikes so detailed responses is much appreciated
Old 03-10-12, 06:41 PM
Spoonrobot 

Mentioned: 63 Post(s)
Quoted: 1216 Post(s)
Liked 185 Times in 116 Posts
Sell or trade it and get a more suitable frame. The Varisty is great for riding to Vietnam War protests, bra burnings and the disco but it SUCKS for conversion to a fixed gear.
Old 03-10-12, 06:41 PM
Benson

Bikes: Brooklyn Machine Works Gangsta Track, Bianchi Pista Concept 2005, Cannondale CAAD9, Klein Fervor

Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
A fixed gear wheel.
Old 03-10-12, 06:45 PM
Spoonrobot 

Mentioned: 63 Post(s)
Quoted: 1216 Post(s)
Liked 185 Times in 116 Posts
If you insist, follow these simple directions. Prepare to spend $100-$300 on your 38 pound fixed gear with a one piece crank and Chicago Schwinn specific parts.

Old 03-10-12, 07:42 PM
Ultraspontane
bedazzled fingernails

Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Originally Posted by martincano15
I have a 70s varsity shwinn i bought from craigslist.
i was wondering how do i convert it into a fixie. And what ill need
im new to building bikes so detailed responses is much appreciated