Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Electric Bikes
Reload this Page >

Dahon Speed Uno electric conversion questions

Search
Notices
Electric Bikes Here's a place to discuss ebikes, from home grown to high-tech.

Search this Thread

Old 10-17-13, 11:02 AM
chillspike

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

HI,

I am considering combining the Bionx system set up in the video below (the BionX PL 350) with the Dahon Speed Uno.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SE1Mz9RcxO4

Given that the non-electric Dahon Speed Uno is one speed, should I anticipate problems or difficulties with such a conversion? (I'm new to electric bikes)

Obviously, i'm trying to save money on the bicycle side in order to afford the better Bionx system. So the related question I have is will the quality of the Dahon Speed Uno be decent given its low price? Am I getting a better bike than if I were to purchase say a Produco Mariner 7 or should I just get the Mariner 7?

Thanks.
Old 10-17-13, 04:13 PM
chillspike

Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Someone in yahoo answers just told me the one speed Daho Speed Uno would not work with the Bionx system. Saved me from making a big amateur mistake, obviously. Basically said I need something with more speeds and hand brakes.

So with that in mind, let me reword my question:

What would be the least expensive 20" folding bike I could put the BionX PL 350 system on? Or am I still better off going with the Mariner 7?

I was thinking about a Gotham Citizen or a Vela. No good?

Thanks again.

Last edited by chillspike; 10-17-13 at 04:57 PM.
Old 10-17-13, 05:27 PM
BruceMetras

Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Quoted: 113 Post(s)
Liked 8 Times in 6 Posts