Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Touring
Reload this Page >

Question about Brooks saddle

Search
Notices
Touring Have a dream to ride a bike across your state, across the country, or around the world? Self-contained or fully supported? Trade ideas, adventures, and more in our bicycle touring forum.

Search this Thread

Old 03-27-20, 06:36 AM
Siwash

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

I'm just getting into this and know Brook makes a good saddle.

Do I get the B-17 or the saddle with the cut-out. Hoping to ride across America in another two years.
Old 03-27-20, 07:38 AM
ups

Quoted: 41 Post(s)
Liked 28 Times in 20 Posts
Do a little more research. Several models including the B17 come with cut outs.

You can't go wrong trying a B17. The Pro model fits me a bit better.
Old 03-27-20, 07:58 AM
Unca_Sam
The dropped

Bikes: Pake C'Mute Touring/Commuter Build, 1989 Kona Cinder Cone, 1995 Trek 5200, 1973 Raleigh Super Course FG, 1960/61 Montgomery Ward Hawthorne "thrift" 3 speed, by Hercules (sold) : 1966 Schwinn Deluxe Racer (sold)

Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Quoted: 1739 Post(s)
Liked 1,014 Times in 696 Posts
I agree that Brooks makes a good saddle. Ensure you're following the manufacturer recommendations regarding protection of the leather. A rain cover is a great idea, though I just recycle a Tyvek or plastic shipping bag to and a small bungee cover the saddle when I'm not on it. You'll also hide the saddle from potential thieves, as there's a thriving eBay market for all Brooks saddles. I use a worn out bike chain sheathed in an inner tube and re-pinned as a 'permanent' security tether for the saddle and seatpost as well.

You're the only one that can answer the question about the cut-out, and if it's necessary. If you use a cut out now, or if you're not comfortable in your setup with the saddle nose slightly up or level, a cut out could be right for you.