Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Cyclocross and Gravelbiking (Recreational)
Reload this Page >

Kona Sutra 2020 vs All City Gorilla Monsoon

Notices
Cyclocross and Gravelbiking (Recreational) This has to be the most physically intense sport ever invented. It's high speed bicycle racing on a short off road course or riding the off pavement rides on gravel like : "Unbound Gravel". We also have a dedicated Racing forum for the Cyclocross Hard Core Racers.

Old 10-13-19, 05:05 PM
pickleslips

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

Hey guys,

I'm new to touring / gravel biking and i'm looking for a flexible all rounder bike that can handle road touring/ bikepacking and get off road for some solid gravel, fire trail and maybe some single track. I've got it down to these two bikes, but i'm really stuck on deciding...

The Sutra has way more flexibility with tyre sizes as it comes with a 700c 50 and could still fit a 650b 2.4 but the All City Gorilla Monsoon maxes out at around 700c 43 and comes with the 650b 2.4. Sutra is a bit more stable with a longer wheelbase too, but would be less easy & fun to throw around.
I test rode them both, and indeed the Sutra is stable and nimble on the road, and a joy to ride, but the Gorilla was easier to throw around and felt a bit more fun, but might get annoying on long road rides. Felt a bit cheaper too, but coming from a BMX background I really quite liked the playful manner of it.

Parts list goes to the Sutra hands down. The hydraulic brakes are great and the Sutras brakes are garbage.
The GM is 'cooler' and a bit more unique, which accounts for nothing but is still attractive unfortunately.

I dunno, i'm kind of paralysed for choice and looking for long term riders opinions to help out.

Thanks
Old 10-13-19, 06:07 PM
BillinPA

Bikes: Specialized Diverge Smartweld,Specialized Sirrus Sport, Townie 7D, Specialized crave comp 29er

Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked 4 Times in 4 Posts