Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Bicycle Mechanics
Reload this Page >

Total Internal Cable Routing

Notices
Bicycle Mechanics Broken bottom bracket? Tacoed wheel? If you're having problems with your bicycle, or just need help fixing a flat, drop in here for the latest on bicycle mechanics & bicycle maintenance.

Total Internal Cable Routing

Old 08-12-20, 07:52 AM
  #1  
marleyisdead
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked 2 Times in 1 Post
Total Internal Cable Routing

Looks like some of the 2021 high end bikes are going to full internal cabling. I'm wondering if home mechanics are going to be able to change cables with this set up. Anybody give it a try?
marleyisdead is offline  
Old 08-12-20, 09:04 AM
  #2  
fietsbob
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: NW,Oregon Coast
Posts: 43,598

Bikes: 8

Mentioned: 197 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7607 Post(s)
Liked 1,278 Times in 798 Posts
Bene Sugg: ... when you pull out an old cable glue some string to it, and then you can use that string to pull the new cable in..
fietsbob is offline  
Likes For fietsbob:
Old 08-12-20, 09:30 AM
  #3  
rhenning
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 3,471
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 318 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 46 Times in 33 Posts
This was a big thing in the 1990s and was more a sales gimmick than something that made the bike better. My bikes like that eventually had the cable on the outside of the frame. Roger

Last edited by rhenning; 08-12-20 at 03:01 PM.
rhenning is offline  
Likes For rhenning:
Old 08-12-20, 09:41 AM
  #4  
Dan Burkhart 
Senior member
 
Dan Burkhart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Oakville Ontario
Posts: 7,525
Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 659 Post(s)
Liked 137 Times in 92 Posts
In the last shop I worked in, I would say the majority of the bikes we worked on were internal. We would use a length of plastic tube, about 1/8" OD and slip it over the cable inner before pulling it out. Then you could just feed the new cable through the tube and you're done.
In cases where there was full length housing through the frame, you could leave the housing in place and feed a new cable through. Then to replace the housing, just do it in reverse and pull the housing through while leaving the inner in place.
More work than exposed cables in any case, but not too bad.
Dan Burkhart is offline  
Old 08-12-20, 10:04 AM
  #5  
marleyisdead
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked 2 Times in 1 Post
Originally Posted by Dan Burkhart View Post
In the last shop I worked in, I would say the majority of the bikes we worked on were internal. We would use a length of plastic tube, about 1/8" OD and slip it over the cable inner before pulling it out. Then you could just feed the new cable through the tube and you're done.
In cases where there was full length housing through the frame, you could leave the housing in place and feed a new cable through. Then to replace the housing, just do it in reverse and pull the housing through while leaving the inner in place.
More work than exposed cables in any case, but not too bad.
Hey Dan, does this procedure work thru the stem as well?
marleyisdead is offline  
Old 08-12-20, 02:11 PM
  #6  
icemilkcoffee
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 146
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 80 Post(s)
Liked 42 Times in 33 Posts
With Di2 wireless electronic derailleurs and hydraulic brakes on these modern bikes, there might not be any cables left for you to fiddle with.
icemilkcoffee is online now  
Likes For icemilkcoffee:
Old 08-12-20, 02:27 PM
  #7  
fietsbob
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: NW,Oregon Coast
Posts: 43,598

Bikes: 8

Mentioned: 197 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7607 Post(s)
Liked 1,278 Times in 798 Posts
If you didn't already buy this wonder- bike... Don't..

Be realistic.. seek out something you can work on..
fietsbob is offline  
Old 08-12-20, 02:50 PM
  #8  
Iride01
Senior Member
 
Iride01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Mississippi
Posts: 4,299

Bikes: '20 Tarmac Disc Comp '91 Schwinn Paramount '78 Raleigh Competition GS

Mentioned: 26 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1615 Post(s)
Liked 511 Times in 391 Posts
It wasn't easy to find a good way to route cables for DR's and brakes without the bends and turns giving an issue. With wires for electronic shifting and hydraulic lines for brakes not suffering the same as cables did it will probably be something we see more of.

The frames I've seen with this have access ports and it doesn't seem like fishing a wire through will be a big deal as it was for stiff cables. My own bike, while not completely hidden with the cables has what seems good access to those that are.

And it really does make the frames easier to wipe down. I've started cleaning my bike more after years of not fussing with my other bikes that had cables running all over them.
Iride01 is online now  
Likes For Iride01:
Old 08-13-20, 11:24 AM
  #9  
marleyisdead
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked 2 Times in 1 Post
Originally Posted by icemilkcoffee View Post
With Di2 wireless electronic derailleurs and hydraulic brakes on these modern bikes, there might not be any cables left for you to fiddle with.
I laughed out loud at this one IMC.
marleyisdead is offline  
Old 08-13-20, 11:28 AM
  #10  
marleyisdead
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked 2 Times in 1 Post
Yea I do most of my own wrenching and living in FLA I don't need disc brakes. So rim brakes and mechanical shifters work fine. But my 2013 Pinarello is getting pretty worn (32K miles.) And I like the Pinarello ride and style.
marleyisdead is offline  
Old 08-13-20, 11:57 AM
  #11  
pdlamb
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: northern Deep South
Posts: 6,071

Bikes: Fuji Touring, Novara Randonee

Mentioned: 29 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1248 Post(s)
Liked 340 Times in 238 Posts
Internal cable routing on many new bikes is one reason my n+1 might be custom, even though I can probably get a mass produced bike that fits. I'd rather have the braze-ons for accessible cables. (And some other things that work well but just are not cool, Daddy!)
pdlamb is offline  
Likes For pdlamb:
Old 08-13-20, 02:05 PM
  #12  
canklecat
Me duelen las nalgas
 
canklecat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Texas
Posts: 11,655

Bikes: Centurion Ironman, Trek 5900, Univega Via Carisma, Globe Carmel

Mentioned: 184 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3696 Post(s)
Liked 1,295 Times in 850 Posts
Some Diamondback road bike frames after 2010 or so attached cable housings inside the frame to make it easier. Just slip in new cable. I suppose eventually the internal cable housings would also need to be replaced. So far mine are fine. There are access ports with covers on the bottom bracket to make it easier to replace the cables and cable housings if necessary. Not sure why other frame makers don't use this trick.
canklecat is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.