Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Bicycle Mechanics
Reload this Page >

Freewheel Broken and Questions

Notices
Bicycle Mechanics Broken bottom bracket? Tacoed wheel? If you're having problems with your bicycle, or just need help fixing a flat, drop in here for the latest on bicycle mechanics & bicycle maintenance.

Freewheel Broken and Questions

Old 08-13-20, 08:55 AM
  #1  
CanadianBiker32
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
CanadianBiker32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 927

Bikes: Maxim, Rocky Mountain, Argon 18, Cervelo S2 Team

Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 130 Post(s)
Liked 1 Time in 1 Post
Freewheel Broken and Questions

Hi bike is a 2012 Rocky Mountain Element

Just recently today my freewheel went.

I know its the freewheel as i can no longer pedal, and everything spins forward and no connection to rear wheel.

Anyhow in replacement of freewheel? do i also need to get a whole new hub? wheel rebuild too?
or can i just keep the existing hub attached and just replace freewheel directly.

also what type ? size of freewheel should i be looking for?
older 24 speed

Carbon fiber frame. thanks
CanadianBiker32 is offline  
Old 08-13-20, 09:30 AM
  #2  
sch
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Mountain Brook. AL
Posts: 3,786
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 244 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 55 Times in 45 Posts
From the literature/website, your bike is recent enough to have a cassette that mounts onto a freehub that is
part of the wheel hub. These are usually a replaceable item. You will need to identify the hub manufacturer
and check their website for options. Freehubs are in the $25-75 range. However it is quite possible that the
free hub can be fixed by dissassembly, clean and lube. They are not particularly complicated internally.
The freehub comes off the wheel hub without taking the entire hub out of the wheel.

Worst case scenario is that the gear like ratchets inside the wheel hub that the freehub pawls bear
against have broken or come loose, this would be obvious once the freehub is removed and would
necessitate a wheel rebuild with a new hub.

Last edited by sch; 08-13-20 at 09:34 AM.
sch is offline  
Old 08-13-20, 09:44 AM
  #3  
frogman
frogman
 
frogman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Napa Valley, CA
Posts: 419

Bikes: Trek 520, Trek Madone, Rivendell Romulus, Salsa titanium, Habanero Titanium Diamond Back Mtn bike

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 128 Post(s)
Liked 50 Times in 31 Posts
As sch ststed you have a freehub with a cassette. Your bike is 10 speed with a Shimano drive train. You will need a new Shimano 10 speed freehub. To replace the freehub, first you remove the cassette gear cluster from the free hub then take off the lock ring on the freehub and simply slide it off. I would check the teeth on the cassette and replace it along with the freehub while you are at it if it shows wear. Now having said that, it is a good idea to get a new chain too. It is not that hard to replace these items. I replaced these items recently on my Trek mountain bike. For the price it is not worth trying to overhaul the freehub, sounds like it is broken anyway.
frogman is offline  
Old 08-13-20, 09:44 AM
  #4  
CanadianBiker32
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
CanadianBiker32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 927

Bikes: Maxim, Rocky Mountain, Argon 18, Cervelo S2 Team

Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 130 Post(s)
Liked 1 Time in 1 Post
should i try that first? just take it out and clean and lube it , and it might work again?
CanadianBiker32 is offline  
Old 08-13-20, 09:48 AM
  #5  
dedhed
SE Wis
 
dedhed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Posts: 6,817

Bikes: '68 Raleigh Sprite, '02 Raleigh C500, '84 Raleigh Gran Prix, '91 Trek 400

Mentioned: 23 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1303 Post(s)
Liked 707 Times in 487 Posts
Originally Posted by CanadianBiker32 View Post
should i try that first? just take it out and clean and lube it , and it might work again?
Yes, What do you have to lose?
dedhed is offline  
Old 08-13-20, 09:49 AM
  #6  
70sSanO
Senior Member
 
70sSanO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Mission Viejo
Posts: 2,256

Bikes: 1986 Cannondale SR400 (Flat bar commuter), 1988 Cannondale Criterium XTR, 1992 Serotta T-Max, 1995 Trek 970

Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 498 Post(s)
Liked 239 Times in 172 Posts
Are you able to do this work? If you think you can, then go for it. My advice is to buy a replacement freehub body to have on hand in case you need to replace it one day or yours doesn’t get all the way back after you flush and lube.

If you can’t do the work, take the bike in to a bike shop and have a new one installed. He the older one back and then see if you can get them t to work again.

John
70sSanO is offline  
Old 08-13-20, 10:36 AM
  #7  
CanadianBiker32
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
CanadianBiker32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 927

Bikes: Maxim, Rocky Mountain, Argon 18, Cervelo S2 Team

Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 130 Post(s)
Liked 1 Time in 1 Post
here is my progress 3 pics


pics of hub when off

on the hub

parts of the hub off
Hi there attached are 3 pics. i was able to get part of the free hub off, does this mean i should replace, what part should i just buy? the round metal part?
CanadianBiker32 is offline  
Old 08-13-20, 10:36 AM
  #8  
davidad
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 6,283
Mentioned: 16 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 445 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 66 Times in 60 Posts
From the specs that I find you have a shimano freehub. You are going to need to overhaul the hub and flush out the freehub body and hope that it frees up. If not they are easy to find.
davidad is offline  
Old 08-13-20, 10:37 AM
  #9  
CanadianBiker32
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
CanadianBiker32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 927

Bikes: Maxim, Rocky Mountain, Argon 18, Cervelo S2 Team

Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 130 Post(s)
Liked 1 Time in 1 Post
3 pictures above yes i should be able to do this job for sure, just i think i should just order a part as things are quite used
what would i be buying though for this fix? what else do i need to take off and replace from these photos? Thanks
CanadianBiker32 is offline  
Old 08-13-20, 05:43 PM
  #10  
CanadianBiker32
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
CanadianBiker32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 927

Bikes: Maxim, Rocky Mountain, Argon 18, Cervelo S2 Team

Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 130 Post(s)
Liked 1 Time in 1 Post
this is recent pics

CanadianBiker32 is offline  
Old 08-13-20, 05:46 PM
  #11  
CanadianBiker32
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
CanadianBiker32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 927

Bikes: Maxim, Rocky Mountain, Argon 18, Cervelo S2 Team

Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 130 Post(s)
Liked 1 Time in 1 Post
ok help here
i did clean the free hub
still spins forward

so must be done

now
can i remove the parts shown without buy a whole new hub?
suggestions please
CanadianBiker32 is offline  
Old 08-13-20, 07:19 PM
  #12  
Homebrew01
Super Moderator
 
Homebrew01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Ffld Cnty Connecticut
Posts: 21,555

Bikes: Old Steelies I made, Old Cannondales

Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1010 Post(s)
Liked 333 Times in 246 Posts
Where is the spring for the pawl ?
Originally Posted by CanadianBiker32 View Post
this is recent pics
__________________
Bikes: Old steel race bikes, old Cannondale race bikes, less old Cannondale race bike, crappy old mtn bike.

FYI: https://www.bikeforums.net/forum-sugg...ad-please.html
Homebrew01 is offline  
Old 08-13-20, 07:23 PM
  #13  
CanadianBiker32
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
CanadianBiker32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 927

Bikes: Maxim, Rocky Mountain, Argon 18, Cervelo S2 Team

Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 130 Post(s)
Liked 1 Time in 1 Post
spring broke off
CanadianBiker32 is offline  
Old 08-13-20, 07:25 PM
  #14  
fietsbob
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: NW,Oregon Coast
Posts: 43,598

Bikes: 8

Mentioned: 197 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7607 Post(s)
Liked 1,284 Times in 801 Posts
No pawl springs will cause those issues , buy a new driver assembly..


maybe do more cleaning and service next time..
fietsbob is offline  
Old 08-13-20, 08:43 PM
  #15  
Juan el Boricua
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: San Juan, PR
Posts: 51

Bikes: 1980's Royce Union "fixer", 1995 Trek 370, 1985 Diamond Back MTN SS, 406 -wheeled " shopper/minivelo"for running errands, SS Raleigh M60

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked 8 Times in 7 Posts
Maybe find a discarded freehub body (not necessary for it to be the same number of "speeds"/ sprockets/gears but must be same brand and preferably same year/vintage), and remove the pawls spring to reuse on yours.
Juan el Boricua is offline  
Old 08-13-20, 08:50 PM
  #16  
Homebrew01
Super Moderator
 
Homebrew01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Ffld Cnty Connecticut
Posts: 21,555

Bikes: Old Steelies I made, Old Cannondales

Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1010 Post(s)
Liked 333 Times in 246 Posts
Originally Posted by CanadianBiker32 View Post
spring broke off
No wonder it doesn't work.
__________________
Bikes: Old steel race bikes, old Cannondale race bikes, less old Cannondale race bike, crappy old mtn bike.

FYI: https://www.bikeforums.net/forum-sugg...ad-please.html
Homebrew01 is offline  
Old 08-14-20, 11:48 AM
  #17  
CanadianBiker32
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
CanadianBiker32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 927

Bikes: Maxim, Rocky Mountain, Argon 18, Cervelo S2 Team

Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 130 Post(s)
Liked 1 Time in 1 Post
i do have some older rear wheels hanging around, i might see if i can get them off
CanadianBiker32 is offline  
Old 08-14-20, 12:29 PM
  #18  
mack_turtle
n00b
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 675

Bikes: Surly Karate Monkey, Traitor Crusade

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 121 Post(s)
Liked 59 Times in 35 Posts
freehub parts generally do not transfer from one hub model to another. there are dozens hundreds of freehub designs. you might be able to rebuild the existing freehub with new parts to make it work again, but you'll need the parts made specifically for that hub model. if you need to replace the whole freehub, you'll need to find one that is made specifically for that DT Swiss hub. is that a X1800 hub? I can't read that sticker.

also: holy smokes, that is the dirtiest hub insides I have ever seen! preventative maintenance would have helped, but now you've hopefully learned that lesson.
mack_turtle is offline  
Old 08-14-20, 02:09 PM
  #19  
CanadianBiker32
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
CanadianBiker32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 927

Bikes: Maxim, Rocky Mountain, Argon 18, Cervelo S2 Team

Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 130 Post(s)
Liked 1 Time in 1 Post
yes this one i been using since 2012 the time i bought it, i think this could be first time i took the freehub off.
CanadianBiker32 is offline  
Old 08-14-20, 02:10 PM
  #20  
CanadianBiker32
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
CanadianBiker32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 927

Bikes: Maxim, Rocky Mountain, Argon 18, Cervelo S2 Team

Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 130 Post(s)
Liked 1 Time in 1 Post
yes the hub is a DT Swiss Hub 1800
CanadianBiker32 is offline  
Old 08-14-20, 02:11 PM
  #21  
CanadianBiker32
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
CanadianBiker32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 927

Bikes: Maxim, Rocky Mountain, Argon 18, Cervelo S2 Team

Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 130 Post(s)
Liked 1 Time in 1 Post
ok so what is my best course of action
should i just buy a whole new DT Swiss Hub 1800
or can i get the insides of it

or what do you all recommend
just get a whole new DT Swiss Hub 1800 and do the wheel rebuild?
thanks
CanadianBiker32 is offline  
Old 08-14-20, 03:26 PM
  #22  
CanadianBiker32
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
CanadianBiker32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 927

Bikes: Maxim, Rocky Mountain, Argon 18, Cervelo S2 Team

Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 130 Post(s)
Liked 1 Time in 1 Post
just a question would
getting the DT 3 Pawl kit work
https://www.amazon.ca/Kit-cliquet-a%...=sports&sr=1-1

if i just got this and put it on the hub, would i be able it all to work again? from the photo i have, would it be possible for me to fix?
CanadianBiker32 is offline  
Old 08-14-20, 03:49 PM
  #23  
Pop N Wood
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2020
Location: Maryland
Posts: 501

Bikes: 1982 Bianchi Sport SX, Rayleigh Tamland 1, Rans V-Rex recumbent, Fuji MTB, 80's Cannondale MTB with BBSHD ebike motor, 70's vintage Schwinn Continental and Suburban

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 238 Post(s)
Liked 172 Times in 114 Posts
If you value your teeth and your testicles I would replace that freehub. I had a freewheel let loose on power stroke and ended up on the side of the road. I had no idea what happened. Two weeks later it let loose a second time when I tried to pull out in traffic. I trashed the entire wheel after that.

All that residue in your first picture was metal particles that ground away from the inside of the hub. There appears to be a good bit of rust as well. Seals must have failed and the lube washed out over time. Or maybe it has been underwater more than once? At any rate I would break out the jam cause that is completely toast

DT swiss replacement free hubs are available on line.
https://www.jensonusa.com/Freehub-Bodies?brand=DT+Swiss

Contact DT swiss product support and figure out what model you need for your particular hub. They have an excellent reputation, they will help.

Not sure what sort of preventative maintenance people are talking about. I have some pretty old freehubs that have never been apart. At the same time none of them have ever been submerged. That thing had to have been making some noise before it failed.

Last edited by Pop N Wood; 08-14-20 at 03:55 PM.
Pop N Wood is offline  
Likes For Pop N Wood:
Old 08-14-20, 03:58 PM
  #24  
CanadianBiker32
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
CanadianBiker32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 927

Bikes: Maxim, Rocky Mountain, Argon 18, Cervelo S2 Team

Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 130 Post(s)
Liked 1 Time in 1 Post
thanks a lot, actually the rear wheel was totally silent, before it went, use to make a healthy noise, in last few months it was silent.
CanadianBiker32 is offline  
Old 08-14-20, 05:48 PM
  #25  
Juan el Boricua
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: San Juan, PR
Posts: 51

Bikes: 1980's Royce Union "fixer", 1995 Trek 370, 1985 Diamond Back MTN SS, 406 -wheeled " shopper/minivelo"for running errands, SS Raleigh M60

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked 8 Times in 7 Posts
Originally Posted by CanadianBiker32 View Post
just a question would
getting the DT 3 Pawl kit work
https://www.amazon.ca/Kit-cliquet-a%...=sports&sr=1-1

if i just got this and put it on the hub, would i be able it all to work again? from the photo i have, would it be possible for me to fix?
maybe... can you post a picture of where the pawls engage? You'll need to first determine how much wear is there; the kit will be no good if there is excessive wear as to not allow the pawls full engagement (remember that only the tip of the pawls engage, so the "steps" of the ratchet must not be rounded). IMHHO, if it is rust what I see in the picture then that freehub had been abused; I'd get a new one.
Juan el Boricua is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.