Notices
Clydesdales/Athenas (200+ lb / 91+ kg) Looking to lose that spare tire? Ideal weight 200+? Frustrated being a large cyclist in a sport geared for the ultra-light? Learn about the bikes and parts that can take the abuse of a heavier cyclist, how to keep your body going while losing the weight, and get support from others who've been successful.

Clydes Bike Racing

Old 10-15-19, 01:58 PM
cmd111183

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked 1 Time in 1 Post
Clydes Bike Racing

Hey All,

New to the forum. I've been racing triathlon for the last 4 years and have always had strong bike splits. I decided that I want to give bike racing a crack this year but am super anxious about my size compared to the guys I normally see at our local crits and road races. Am I just going to get smoked because I'm around 250#? Or do I have a shot in cat 5 races to hang on to the field? Of course the hope is to get stronger and lose weight, but in the interim, I'm just wondering if any other large guys or girls are racing and holding their own.

Thanks
Chris
Old 10-15-19, 04:35 PM
brawlo

Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Quoted: 288 Post(s)
Liked 76 Times in 57 Posts
I'm 6'5" and 285lb, started racing when I was 310 and worked my way down to 245 when I was my most competitive n the road, and I can hold my own. I'm carrying a lot more upper body muscle coming into this season (due to other sports interests aside from cycling), and I know that is going to hurt my performance this year. I can hold my own in my respective grade, and I've worked my way up to race a season in our club B grade, but being a clyde does come at a penalty.