"The 33"-Road Bike Racing We set this forum up for our members to discuss their experiences in either pro or amateur racing, whether they are the big races, or even the small backyard races. Don't forget to update all the members with your own race results.

Racer Tech Thread

Old 03-15-16, 06:50 AM
  #3226  
Wylde06
Senior Member
 
Wylde06's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: NW Ohio
Posts: 2,170

Bikes: Cannondale Six13

Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 133 Post(s)
Liked 7 Times in 3 Posts
If you do get rollers, I suggest doing it now. There is a bit of a learning curve to riding them.
Wylde06 is offline  
Old 03-15-16, 07:30 AM
  #3227  
topflightpro
Senior Member
 
topflightpro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,411
Mentioned: 49 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1303 Post(s)
Liked 53 Times in 36 Posts
I have a set of the cheap Performance brand Travel Trac rollers. They work well for my use and would probably suit your needs. And I agree that it is probably a good idea to get some practice on them.

I've also seen some very narrow rollers with a front fork mount that are designed for race warm ups. I think they pack up pretty small. That might work well for your needs. Here's one: https://www.feedbacksports.com/shop/...table-trainer/. It's pretty pricey though.
topflightpro is offline  
Old 03-15-16, 08:26 AM
  #3228  
canuckbelle
Senior Member
 
canuckbelle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Charleston, SC
Posts: 944

Bikes: Scott Foil 10, Di2

Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 147 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Originally Posted by topflightpro View Post
I have a set of the cheap Performance brand Travel Trac rollers. They work well for my use and would probably suit your needs. And I agree that it is probably a good idea to get some practice on them.

I've also seen some very narrow rollers with a front fork mount that are designed for race warm ups. I think they pack up pretty small. That might work well for your needs. Here's one: https://www.feedbacksports.com/shop/...table-trainer/. It's pretty pricey though.
I've been drooling over those ones...but $450ish ain't cheap. I think my eventual warm-up set-up will be those, but I need something in the meantime.
canuckbelle is offline  
Old 03-15-16, 09:24 AM
  #3229  
wens
Senior Member
 
wens's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Northeast Ohio
Posts: 3,215
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
If you want to do much more than 200 watts at 90 rpm you probably need rollers with resistance
wens is offline  
Old 03-15-16, 09:36 AM
  #3230  
Andy STi
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Bend, OR
Posts: 557
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Problem with rollers is you need flat ground. If you're parked in a field or grassy lot a trainer will be easier. Just something to think about.
Andy STi is offline  
Old 03-15-16, 09:54 AM
  #3231  
mike868y
avatar by Sean Powers
 
mike868y's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: charm city
Posts: 9,284

Bikes: 2009 Specialized Tarmac Pro

Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 248 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
is the stages power meter protection plan worth it?
mike868y is offline  
Old 03-15-16, 09:56 AM
  #3232  
spdntrxi
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: East Bay Area ,CA
Posts: 1,566

Bikes: Parlee,BMC,Specialized and Trek

Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 108 Post(s)
Liked 10 Times in 4 Posts
^ probably not.. They fixed the battery door problem which is the only issue I've had.
spdntrxi is offline  
Old 03-15-16, 10:30 AM
  #3233  
jsk
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Houston
Posts: 606

Bikes: Trek Madone, Blue Triad SL, Dixie Flyer BTB

Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 160 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Just leave the trainer-compatible skewer on full-time so you don't have to swap anything pre-race.
jsk is offline  
Old 03-15-16, 12:06 PM
  #3234  
spectastic
commu*ist spy
 
spectastic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: inside my body
Posts: 4,427

Bikes: a few

Mentioned: 17 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 642 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 1 Time in 1 Post
my stages had power drain issue. upon search, this is somewhat common. currently going through the warranty process.
spectastic is offline  
Old 03-15-16, 12:18 PM
  #3235  
globecanvas
Ninny
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: The Gunks
Posts: 5,294
Mentioned: 53 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 686 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Originally Posted by mike868y View Post
is the stages power meter protection plan worth it?

Maybe. They do fail and break sometimes.
globecanvas is offline  
Old 03-15-16, 12:25 PM
  #3236  
mike868y
avatar by Sean Powers
 
mike868y's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: charm city
Posts: 9,284

Bikes: 2009 Specialized Tarmac Pro

Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 248 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Originally Posted by globecanvas View Post
Maybe. They do fail and break sometimes.
sure but i think that would be covered under warranty, no? this is more for crashes and damage, at least that what i've gathered. it's probably worth it though.
mike868y is offline  
Old 03-15-16, 12:30 PM
  #3237  
Harlan
Tyrannosaurus Rexitis
 
Harlan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Cape Cod, MA
Posts: 952

Bikes: Scott Addict 6870

Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 60 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Originally Posted by mike868y View Post
sure but i think that would be covered under warranty, no? this is more for crashes and damage, at least that what i've gathered. it's probably worth it though.
It's pretty low risk area IMO, but it's your $$. I didn't buy it when I purchased two Stages for us last year. Glad I didn't because two sets of warranty replacements later we sold them.
Harlan is offline  
Old 03-15-16, 12:32 PM
  #3238  
mike868y
avatar by Sean Powers
 
mike868y's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: charm city
Posts: 9,284

Bikes: 2009 Specialized Tarmac Pro

Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 248 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Originally Posted by Harlan View Post
It's pretty low risk area IMO, but it's your $$. I didn't buy it when I purchased two Stages for us last year. Glad I didn't because two sets of warranty replacements later we sold them.
what'd you go with instead?
mike868y is offline  
Old 03-15-16, 12:36 PM
  #3239  
Harlan
Tyrannosaurus Rexitis
 
Harlan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Cape Cod, MA
Posts: 952

Bikes: Scott Addict 6870

Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 60 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Originally Posted by mike868y View Post
what'd you go with instead?
Wahoo Kickrs inside, HRMs outside. Made winter oh so enjoyable. Plus I spend a month at sea per year - the kickr will save my bacon.

I'm not really out of the market, but have been fine by RPE/HR so far. Ideally want a Pioneer. Just need to save $ for it (remember whatever I buy, double it). We are dinks, just dogs and we rent.

I somewhat prefer doing indoor anaerobic work. No need to watch for traffic, plan routes (there aren't any good ones), or worry about differences in FTP between us and me ending up miles down the road.
Harlan is offline  
Old 03-15-16, 12:50 PM
  #3240  
globecanvas
Ninny
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: The Gunks
Posts: 5,294
Mentioned: 53 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 686 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Originally Posted by mike868y View Post
sure but i think that would be covered under warranty, no? this is more for crashes and damage, at least that what i've gathered. it's probably worth it though.

I broke one on my cross bike (cracked the pod), and had another fail out of warranty. I was an early adopter so they had comped me the protection plan, which covered the out-of-warranty fail. The cracked one still mostly works, but I'd have replaced it if I had the protection plan.
globecanvas is offline  
Old 03-15-16, 04:19 PM
  #3241  
mike868y
avatar by Sean Powers
 
mike868y's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: charm city
Posts: 9,284

Bikes: 2009 Specialized Tarmac Pro

Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 248 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
ordered it. the beginning of the end.
mike868y is offline  
Old 03-15-16, 05:15 PM
  #3242  
valygrl
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Boulder, CO
Posts: 8,546
Mentioned: 83 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 163 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Originally Posted by jsk View Post
Just leave the trainer-compatible skewer on full-time so you don't have to swap anything pre-race.
yeah that's what I do. Kurt Kinetic Road Machine for the trainer. There should be a glut of used trainers on the market because zwift.
valygrl is offline  
Old 03-15-16, 08:28 PM
  #3243  
palesaint
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Los Alamos, NM
Posts: 896

Bikes: 2008 fetish illustre

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Wahoo kickr snap question: I bought this smart trainer a couple months ago and enjoy it for the most part. Issue is that the resistance generated when just under target seems high. For instance if I have target resistance set to 200 watts and I am at 180 it seems to generate a high resistance (feels like 300 watts!) until I get back up to 200... if I happen to drop down to 150 watts I have to be out of the saddle mashing the cranks to get back up to target wattage. I've done multiple calibrations and tried different iOS apps. Current favorite app is Cycleops virtualtraining.

Thanks for any thoughts on this.
palesaint is offline  
Old 03-15-16, 09:02 PM
  #3244  
valygrl
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Boulder, CO
Posts: 8,546
Mentioned: 83 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 163 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I had that problem the first day I had the SNAP, did the firmware update and advanced spin down,and haven't had it since.
valygrl is offline  
Old 03-15-16, 09:18 PM
  #3245  
jsk
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Houston
Posts: 606

Bikes: Trek Madone, Blue Triad SL, Dixie Flyer BTB

Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 160 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Originally Posted by palesaint View Post
Wahoo kickr snap question: I bought this smart trainer a couple months ago and enjoy it for the most part. Issue is that the resistance generated when just under target seems high. For instance if I have target resistance set to 200 watts and I am at 180 it seems to generate a high resistance (feels like 300 watts!) until I get back up to 200... if I happen to drop down to 150 watts I have to be out of the saddle mashing the cranks to get back up to target wattage. I've done multiple calibrations and tried different iOS apps. Current favorite app is Cycleops virtualtraining.

Thanks for any thoughts on this.
A calibration spin-down might help, as valygrl mentioned. I use a Kickr with VirtualTraining, and I've noticed that it's sometimes a bit heavy-handed in erg mode; but I don't know if this is just a limitation of the trainer or a software issue with VirtualTraining. I've found that hard intervals (above threshold) can be really difficult, because you've got to keep the cadence up; otherwise resistance will go up and you end up getting bogged down. It doesn't help that sometimes the Kickr has 'dropouts' where it momentarily reports a much lower wattage and causes the app to raise the resistance quite a bit.
jsk is offline  
Old 03-16-16, 06:41 AM
  #3246  
shovelhd
Senior Member
 
shovelhd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Western MA
Posts: 15,669

Bikes: Yes

Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Originally Posted by palesaint View Post
Wahoo kickr snap question: I bought this smart trainer a couple months ago and enjoy it for the most part. Issue is that the resistance generated when just under target seems high. For instance if I have target resistance set to 200 watts and I am at 180 it seems to generate a high resistance (feels like 300 watts!) until I get back up to 200... if I happen to drop down to 150 watts I have to be out of the saddle mashing the cranks to get back up to target wattage. I've done multiple calibrations and tried different iOS apps. Current favorite app is Cycleops virtualtraining.

Thanks for any thoughts on this.
Interesting, as the complaints I see are the opposite, that the Kickr reads high compared to reality. Definitely keep the firmware up to date and run the calibration, but don't do this every time. Set it once and ride it for a while.
shovelhd is offline  
Old 03-16-16, 06:45 AM
  #3247  
spdntrxi
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: East Bay Area ,CA
Posts: 1,566

Bikes: Parlee,BMC,Specialized and Trek

Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 108 Post(s)
Liked 10 Times in 4 Posts
Originally Posted by shovelhd View Post
Interesting, as the complaints I see are the opposite, that the Kickr reads high compared to reality. Definitely keep the firmware up to date and run the calibration, but don't do this every time. Set it once and ride it for a while.
he's talking about in ERG mode.. if you let your cadence drop too low...it indeed feels heavy. I too experience this at very low cadence levels. I really wish they would release the app that lets you adjust slope like the old days, although my kickr currently is matching well with my vectors..stages read about 5w higher, but then I'm left leg dominate too.
spdntrxi is offline  
Old 03-16-16, 06:52 AM
  #3248  
shovelhd
Senior Member
 
shovelhd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Western MA
Posts: 15,669

Bikes: Yes

Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I thought he might have been referring to his unfamiliarity with erg mode but that doesn't negate the need to get it working right first.
shovelhd is offline  
Old 03-16-16, 07:09 AM
  #3249  
valygrl
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Boulder, CO
Posts: 8,546
Mentioned: 83 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 163 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Originally Posted by shovelhd View Post
Interesting, as the complaints I see are the opposite, that the Kickr reads high compared to reality. Definitely keep the firmware up to date and run the calibration, but don't do this every time. Set it once and ride it for a while.
Yes, I have that issue - Kickr SNAP reads 15-20 watts above powertap, so I have to increase the target wattage to in the app to reach the actual wattage. TrainerRoad has a nice watt matching feature to handle this internally, but Zwift does not (yet), so I have to put in fake higher FTP.

I think it was the firmware update that really solved my issue, not necessarily the spindown. But if you get bogged down, if you come to a complete stop before re-starting, the brake will release and you can get going again. I had the same issue with computrainers in a class I used to take.
valygrl is offline  
Old 03-16-16, 07:25 AM
  #3250  
palesaint
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Los Alamos, NM
Posts: 896

Bikes: 2008 fetish illustre

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Thanks all for feedback. I've done multiple calibration spindowns with identical results. One thing I haven't done is check for firmware update. Will do that and report back!
palesaint is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.