Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Electric Bikes
Reload this Page >

Decathlon Elops900E

Notices
Electric Bikes Here's a place to discuss ebikes, from home grown to high-tech.

Decathlon Elops900E

Old 08-25-19, 03:36 AM
  #1  
djson280
Newbie
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Decathlon Elops900E

Hello all, new here.

I have a Decathlon 900E, electric cycle. It keeps flashing error 5, on the display, and then completely stops giving any assistance.

So i took it to the shop, and they replaced the battery holder, and all the contents there in.

Within 3 hours, guess what, it says error 5.

There seems to be no way of finding out what error 5 means.

The guy in the shop says, it means, the connections at the battery head, that has just been changed.

Does anyone know how to either bypass the pedal shaft sensor, and or how to test, the sensor?

When it stops giving assistance, it sometimes will later start again. Today, i had to leave it for 45 minutes before it would work again.

Thanks
djson280 is offline  
Old 08-25-19, 07:48 AM
  #2  
Doc_Wui
Senior Member
 
Doc_Wui's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Chicago Suburbs
Posts: 792

Bikes: GT Transeo & a half dozen ebike conversions.

Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 187 Post(s)
Liked 6 Times in 5 Posts
This your bike? No Error 5.
https://support.decathlon.co.uk/site...2018-02-13.pdf
Doc_Wui is offline  
Old 08-25-19, 09:23 AM
  #3  
linberl
Senior Member
 
linberl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 2,503

Bikes: 2017 Bike Friday PakiT. Dahon Mu Uno (trailer bike) Sold: 2003 Bike Friday NWT, 1997 Trek 720, 1993 Trek 520)

Mentioned: 23 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 994 Post(s)
Liked 27 Times in 24 Posts
Just a guess - when it stops but then works again after a little while, heat fault of some kind?
linberl is offline  
Old 08-25-19, 12:50 PM
  #4  
Tamiya
Senior Member
 
Tamiya's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: AU, MY, SG & ZZZzzz...
Posts: 200
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 96 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 3 Times in 3 Posts
It's Decathlon, they've got a satisfaction guarantee/warranty.

Take that bike back and get a full refund.

Buy a different unit or try another model...
Tamiya is offline  
Old 08-26-19, 04:01 AM
  #5  
djson280
Newbie
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Smile I like your thought!

Originally Posted by Tamiya View Post
It's Decathlon, they've got a satisfaction guarantee/warranty.

Take that bike back and get a full refund.

Buy a different unit or try another model...
It is 2 years old, and the warranty runs out 28/08/19.

I took it n today, and they called the technician and say it is most probably the break sensor.

So i'll give it a clean and WD40 all the connections.

I'll have a look at the price of new break levers if it keeps happening.

Over the past 4 months they have replaced the motor and the battery box, with all new electronics, so it should be as good as new.

BTW i'm in Spain, there is no such thing as satisfaction here!
djson280 is offline  
Old 08-26-19, 10:06 AM
  #6  
MikeyMK
Cycleway town
 
MikeyMK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Milton Keynes, England
Posts: 1,229

Bikes: 2.6kw GT LTS e-tandem, 250w Voodoo, 250w solar recumbent trike, 3-speed shopper, Merlin ol/skl mtb, 80cc Ellswick

Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 469 Post(s)
Liked 97 Times in 73 Posts
It's a generic chinese system, they're pretty basic. Cutting out only when under load suggests to me an ampage issue, which is either a poor connection in the power circuit or the BMS is kicking-in because the battery is tired.

2yrs seems low for a tired battery, and if it's displaying some capacity whilst cutting then i'd be looking at a poor connection or bad wire.
MikeyMK is offline  
Old 08-27-19, 05:18 AM
  #7  
djson280
Newbie
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
OK, i checked the connections, yesterday, sprayed them with WD40, all was good yesterday.

Today, just as i arrived in town, it stopped working.

I pulled the right brake connections apart and hey presto, it's working. Put the connectors back together, and it stopped again, so this time i put some pressure on the lever, to open it, and the motor stated, so that seams to be the issue.

I'll see how i get along for a few days, if i can live with it i will; if not i'll get another lever.

So mystery solved. So i'm happy.

Not so impressed that the shop did not figure it out for the past 6 months.

Thanks one and all.
djson280 is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.