Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Electronics, Lighting, & Gadgets
Reload this Page >

So disappointed by Cycliq

Notices
Electronics, Lighting, & Gadgets HRM, GPS, MP3, HID. Whether it's got an acronym or not, here's where you'll find discussions on all sorts of tools, toys and gadgets.

So disappointed by Cycliq

Old 04-01-19, 04:59 PM
  #26  
JohnJ80
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 4,026

Bikes: N+1=5

Mentioned: 17 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 565 Post(s)
Liked 10 Times in 10 Posts
Originally Posted by OhLylo View Post
I tend to agree, but I'm not sure what else to do given that I've worked through two devices and every troubleshooting step they've offered. I'm not a luddite, I work in IT and I like to think I'm pretty competent when it comes to fiddling with tech. At this point, it's just more of a hassle than it's worth.
I'd bet it's the SD card speed. There's a lot of BS going on between manufacturers on speed. Samung tends to lead the industry by a fair amount in process technology in FLASH. I've had zero problems with the Samsung high speed cards I mentioned. Might be worth a try. I don't think I'd take Cycliq's word for it - small company and I doubt they have any real resources to test card speed. I'm betting their "test" probably was putting a card in and trying it and then calling it good.

J.
JohnJ80 is offline  
Likes For JohnJ80:
Old 04-01-19, 06:21 PM
  #27  
CliffordK
Senior Member
 
CliffordK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Posts: 22,744
Mentioned: 176 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8922 Post(s)
Liked 143 Times in 117 Posts
What resolutions does the camera support?

Is there a way to drop the resolution down a bit? 720p, 1080p? Perhaps a slower frame rate.

If it bonks on high resolution, but not low resolution, then either speed, or perhaps a faulty card would be an issue.

I have a first gen Fly 6. It did OK for a while. The straps were a problem, and I broke a few of them.

I think over time the battery started getting weak, and would tend to konk out earlier than expected. The, the USB port eventually stopped charging, and the device became a paperweight.

I asked about orientation because there is a 15 minute auto-off feature related to wrecks and crashes. That shouldn't be an issue if kept mostly vertical from the time it is turned on through the ride. Mine worked just fine upside-down too. But, it will stop if the thing is tilted sideways for a period.

Now, it is possible that the orientation sensor is damaged???

Or perhaps a faulty battery????

I think the new Fly6CE has a few different modes including camera only (no light), and perhaps light only (no camera). You could try to replicate the issue with the camera only mode, or light only mode.

But, for new devices, I would hope a faulty battery isn't the issue, especially since they are supposed to be a pain to replace.
CliffordK is offline  
Old 04-02-19, 08:03 AM
  #28  
OhLylo
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: North of LA, CA
Posts: 107

Bikes: Trek FX3

Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 40 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Originally Posted by CliffordK View Post
What resolutions does the camera support?

Is there a way to drop the resolution down a bit? 720p, 1080p? Perhaps a slower frame rate.

If it bonks on high resolution, but not low resolution, then either speed, or perhaps a faulty card would be an issue.

I have a first gen Fly 6. It did OK for a while. The straps were a problem, and I broke a few of them.

I think over time the battery started getting weak, and would tend to konk out earlier than expected. The, the USB port eventually stopped charging, and the device became a paperweight.

I asked about orientation because there is a 15 minute auto-off feature related to wrecks and crashes. That shouldn't be an issue if kept mostly vertical from the time it is turned on through the ride. Mine worked just fine upside-down too. But, it will stop if the thing is tilted sideways for a period.

Now, it is possible that the orientation sensor is damaged???

Or perhaps a faulty battery????

I think the new Fly6CE has a few different modes including camera only (no light), and perhaps light only (no camera). You could try to replicate the issue with the camera only mode, or light only mode.

But, for new devices, I would hope a faulty battery isn't the issue, especially since they are supposed to be a pain to replace.
Yeah, it supports 1080/60, 1080/30, and I think 720/60 as well. I've been disabling the idle mode and incident mode settings to rule them out, but I thought the incident mode was supposed to just prevent the footage from being overwritten if you crash or whatever? That should rule out the orientation sensor, at any rate. The battery seems fine, it's not running out of charge when it shuts off. When I check it after, it's always been at 80% or higher.

Paypal awarded me a refund yesterday, so I can safely let it sit on my desk and be useless now. Shame, though. It's a cool device, but it shouldn't require this level of tinkering to work consistently, especially when the main selling point is as a safety enhancement device.
OhLylo is offline  
Old 04-03-19, 04:43 PM
  #29  
JohnJ80
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 4,026

Bikes: N+1=5

Mentioned: 17 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 565 Post(s)
Liked 10 Times in 10 Posts
Originally Posted by OhLylo View Post
Yeah, it supports 1080/60, 1080/30, and I think 720/60 as well. I've been disabling the idle mode and incident mode settings to rule them out, but I thought the incident mode was supposed to just prevent the footage from being overwritten if you crash or whatever? That should rule out the orientation sensor, at any rate. The battery seems fine, it's not running out of charge when it shuts off. When I check it after, it's always been at 80% or higher.

Paypal awarded me a refund yesterday, so I can safely let it sit on my desk and be useless now. Shame, though. It's a cool device, but it shouldn't require this level of tinkering to work consistently, especially when the main selling point is as a safety enhancement device.
Now I'm having problems with mine (and it's brand new). I'm wondering if there aren't a bad batch of these out there. I have one I just got off of Amazon and it won't record, runs 5 mins and shuts off. I can power it on but I can't power it off. And it doesn't matter whether there's a card in there or not. I've reformatted the card in the unit (supposedly), I've reformatted it on my mac to MS-DOS format, etc... It's nonfunctional at the most basic level (ie. power off button).

I'm thinking they might have a problem. The probability that we both are having trouble is not a good sign.

J.
JohnJ80 is offline  
Old 04-03-19, 05:20 PM
  #30  
OhLylo
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: North of LA, CA
Posts: 107

Bikes: Trek FX3

Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 40 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Originally Posted by JohnJ80 View Post
Now I'm having problems with mine (and it's brand new). I'm wondering if there aren't a bad batch of these out there. I have one I just got off of Amazon and it won't record, runs 5 mins and shuts off. I can power it on but I can't power it off. And it doesn't matter whether there's a card in there or not. I've reformatted the card in the unit (supposedly), I've reformatted it on my mac to MS-DOS format, etc... It's nonfunctional at the most basic level (ie. power off button).

I'm thinking they might have a problem. The probability that we both are having trouble is not a good sign.

J.
Oh no! I'm sorry to hear that. That sounds like the exact same flaky stuff mine was doing. I don't see an obvious indicator for build date or batch on either of mine, although one has a 4xxxxxxx serial number and one has a 5xxxxxxx serial number. Not sure if that means one is a later build or what.
OhLylo is offline  
Old 04-03-19, 08:25 PM
  #31  
JohnJ80
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 4,026

Bikes: N+1=5

Mentioned: 17 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 565 Post(s)
Liked 10 Times in 10 Posts
Originally Posted by OhLylo View Post
Oh no! I'm sorry to hear that. That sounds like the exact same flaky stuff mine was doing. I don't see an obvious indicator for build date or batch on either of mine, although one has a 4xxxxxxx serial number and one has a 5xxxxxxx serial number. Not sure if that means one is a later build or what.
Serial number on mine is 0500xxxxx which is probably a later build. At any rate, I processed the return with Amazon and the new one should be here on Friday. I'll see if I can get that to behave differently.

I wonder if there is a way to a "blow it's brains out" master reset.

J.
JohnJ80 is offline  
Old 04-04-19, 12:00 AM
  #32  
Lemond1985
Sophomore Member
 
Lemond1985's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 1,648
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 936 Post(s)
Liked 249 Times in 180 Posts
You would think a firmware update would do just that. Good luck in any event, sorry to see you guys have to go through this, but these cameras are a blast once you get them working properly. I have the Fly12ce, FWIW, no problems here except getting the tiny SD card seated in the tiny slot for it. Fixed that by just leaving it alone once I got it working.
Lemond1985 is offline  
Old 04-04-19, 02:49 AM
  #33  
JohnJ80
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 4,026

Bikes: N+1=5

Mentioned: 17 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 565 Post(s)
Liked 10 Times in 10 Posts
Originally Posted by Lemond1985 View Post
You would think a firmware update would do just that. Good luck in any event, sorry to see you guys have to go through this, but these cameras are a blast once you get them working properly. I have the Fly12ce, FWIW, no problems here except getting the tiny SD card seated in the tiny slot for it. Fixed that by just leaving it alone once I got it working.
my Fly12ce has worked just fine too, FWIW.

J.
JohnJ80 is offline  
Old 04-04-19, 07:38 AM
  #34  
OhLylo
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: North of LA, CA
Posts: 107

Bikes: Trek FX3

Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 40 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Originally Posted by JohnJ80 View Post
Serial number on mine is 0500xxxxx which is probably a later build. At any rate, I processed the return with Amazon and the new one should be here on Friday. I'll see if I can get that to behave differently.

I wonder if there is a way to a "blow it's brains out" master reset.

J.
There is the "master reset" they have you do by holding both buttons for 30 seconds. For me, this did absolutely nothing (except make my fingers tired - those buttons are tough!) when my camera was acting up like yours, but it's worth a shot if you haven't tried it already. It doesn't seem like there's any other way to interface with it without some sort of hardware hacking.
OhLylo is offline  
Old 04-04-19, 07:41 AM
  #35  
JohnJ80
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 4,026

Bikes: N+1=5

Mentioned: 17 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 565 Post(s)
Liked 10 Times in 10 Posts
Originally Posted by OhLylo View Post
There is the "master reset" they have you do by holding both buttons for 30 seconds. For me, this did absolutely nothing (except make my fingers tired - those buttons are tough!) when my camera was acting up like yours, but it's worth a shot if you haven't tried it already. It doesn't seem like there's any other way to interface with it without some sort of hardware hacking.
thanks. Iíll give that a try. I may try reloading new firmware again.
JohnJ80 is offline  
Old 04-04-19, 08:43 AM
  #36  
JohnJ80
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 4,026

Bikes: N+1=5

Mentioned: 17 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 565 Post(s)
Liked 10 Times in 10 Posts
Originally Posted by OhLylo View Post
There is the "master reset" they have you do by holding both buttons for 30 seconds. For me, this did absolutely nothing (except make my fingers tired - those buttons are tough!) when my camera was acting up like yours, but it's worth a shot if you haven't tried it already. It doesn't seem like there's any other way to interface with it without some sort of hardware hacking.
Ok, I did this.

I did a master reset holding down the q button for 35 seconds: No change.

I did a master reset as you have suggested with both buttons for 35 seconds: no change.

I reinstalled the firmware update twice: No change.

What it does is it powers up, does the beeps, the bezel LEDs illuminate in a circle pattern and remains that way. At that point it is completely nonresponsive to any button input and will shut off by itself in about a minute or so. So, I think it's brains are hatched.

New one will be here on Friday. I'll send this one back to Amazon on the same day. I have to say, Amazon is amazing on this. I asked to return because it's defective, they immediately sent another one out and I have 30 days to return this unit or be charged for it. Shipping was no charge to me. I'm sure that as soon as Amazon is notified it is UPS's hands, I'll be credited with the return.
JohnJ80 is offline  
Old 04-06-19, 11:13 AM
  #37  
JohnJ80
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 4,026

Bikes: N+1=5

Mentioned: 17 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 565 Post(s)
Liked 10 Times in 10 Posts
I received the new one from Amazon, charged it up and updated the firmware. So far, it looks like it works. So.... I guess we'll see. When it quits raining, I'll take it for a ride.

J.
JohnJ80 is offline  
Old 08-12-19, 03:49 AM
  #38  
johndiam
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I have had the exact same issue, but they won't even reply to my complaints anymore. Started off ok, but got a message a few days ago saying they have high volume of emails and will get back to me but still nothing. I haven't received a replacement yet and am left with a bricked unit

I think I might just have to bit the bullet and throw it in the bin, since I can't see them providing a refund.
johndiam is offline  
Old 08-12-19, 04:24 AM
  #39  
unterhausen
Randomhead
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Happy Valley, Pennsylvania
Posts: 18,456
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked 62 Times in 53 Posts
sometimes they are more responsive on Facebook, FWIW
unterhausen is offline  
Old 08-12-19, 08:06 AM
  #40  
JohnJ80
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 4,026

Bikes: N+1=5

Mentioned: 17 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 565 Post(s)
Liked 10 Times in 10 Posts
I have to say that once I got it working, itís been really stable. I use the headlight every ride the taillight less so. But Iíve used the video several times with law enforcement successfully. So itís a great product from an under resourced company.

I originally thought the taillight would be more useful, but it turned out that the headlight is. The taillight shows you whatís about to happen only from behind and it doesnít show you the full impact of the infraction. The headlight does.
JohnJ80 is offline  
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
MikeOK
For Sale
6
09-04-18 03:25 AM
kba
Charity Events
1
07-30-15 09:55 AM
pakossa
General Cycling Discussion
22
10-30-14 07:51 PM
Wimfl
Road Cycling
2
05-18-10 09:08 PM
devtec
Commuting
14
06-12-09 06:07 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

Copyright © 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.