Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Classic & Vintage
Reload this Page >

Advice needed - 1986 Trek 400 Elance

Notices
Classic & Vintage This forum is to discuss the many aspects of classic and vintage bicycles, including musclebikes, lightweights, middleweights, hi-wheelers, bone-shakers, safety bikes and much more.

Old 08-20-19, 02:43 PM
ngsmith

Bikes: Trek 400, Trek FX 7.2 WSD

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

Newbie here with very little bicycle wrenching experience and no bike tools.

I have a 1986 Trek 400 Elance double that I bought new many, many years ago. Basically unchanged - swapped saddle, changed to SPD pedals. It's been in covered storage for lo these many years. Black, 19" frame. It's in very good condition appearance wise, was maintained a few years ago, and is probably very rideable.

Except, I'm 30 years older with all that goes with that. Additionally, I have relatively short arms and legs. Like having to tailor 1-1/2 off of long sleeves, and a 27" or shorter inseam. I have good, solid contact with the top tube when straddling the frame . Big problem - reaching the down tube shifters has always been problematic, and would be very difficult now.

A few days ago, I met someone with a Trek 620, black, approximately same size. He had converted the drop bars to flat, and changed to finger trigger shifters. Sweet, and much closer in configuration to my 2009 Trek 7.2 FX WSD 15" which I ride frequently. He had that done at Performance Bicycle. I've talked with my LBS, originally thinking converting to drop bar brifters, but this 620 configuration would probably be better for me.

For those better informed, what would I need beyond: flat bar, stem, shifters/brakes, longer cables. Recommendations? Thanks in advance!
Old 08-20-19, 03:14 PM
dedhed
SE Wis

Bikes: '68 Raleigh Sprite, '02 Raleigh C500, '84 Raleigh Gran Prix, '91 Trek 400, 2013 Novara Randonee, 1990 Trek 970

Mentioned: 40 Post(s)