Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Touring
Reload this Page >

I want to tour ...cheeply

Search
Notices
Touring Have a dream to ride a bike across your state, across the country, or around the world? Self-contained or fully supported? Trade ideas, adventures, and more in our bicycle touring forum.

Search this Thread

Old 04-15-09, 12:42 PM
RandyRedwoods

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

I happened to have a couple months free and would like to do some touring, and I’m on a budget. I have done some bike packing (ultralight, overnight endurance trips with stuff sacks strapped under seat and handlebars), but I’m new to what I would consider real touring. My bikes consist of a fixie commuter; high end road bike; 29er full squish mountain bike, that I use for racing; and a ridged 29er. I figure I’d use the ridged 29er for touring. I have all the camping gear I need, but I'm not sure how to best carry my gear on my bike. I’m thinking of riding the pacific coast route; or something through Arizona, Utah, Idaho, and Washington; and later, maybe the Great Divide. I don’t plan on staying on pavement all the time.

I’m not sure what would be the best way to get set up on my ridged 29er mountain bike. I need to spend as little as possible. As far as racks go, I’m pretty sure I’m limited to old man mountain racks, because I have a disk brake only frame and huge 29er wheels. I’m wondering if there are less expensive racks that I could get away with, and I’m clueless as to which cheep panniers would work. I have also looked and some trailers. The Nashbar (bob yak wanabe) trailer is on sale for $100, but would it hold up? Action bent says there trailers don’t fit 29er’s. I’ve thought about converting a child carrier trailer, but they seem pretty wide for touring. I have no problem modifying things, and improvising, just as long as I don’t get stranded.