Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Bicycle Mechanics
Reload this Page >

Freewheel skipping under a bit of load .

Bicycle Mechanics Broken bottom bracket? Tacoed wheel? If you're having problems with your bicycle, or just need help fixing a flat, drop in here for the latest on bicycle mechanics & bicycle maintenance.

Freewheel skipping under a bit of load .

Old 04-18-19, 07:47 AM
  #1  
Bitcrome
Newbie
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Freewheel skipping under a bit of load .

I am building a e bike and i"'m using a side mounted 36 v 500 w DC Motor linked with chain. They are 2 freewheels installed on the same side one for the motor and one for me. The one on the motor works just fine but the one that I'm using it's skipping. I already tried on two bikes. Same problem. The freewheels are new. can it be that freewheel has a different spacing between the teth? Can someone help me ?
Bitcrome is offline  
Old 04-18-19, 07:57 AM
  #2  
skoda2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Ocala, Florida
Posts: 244

Bikes: 74 Romic, 83 Basso, Lotto, 88 Condor, Prestige MTB, 12 Soma, Groove

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
If the freewheels are new, try replacing the drive chain. More info and or photos would be helpful.
skoda2 is offline  
Old 04-18-19, 08:31 AM
  #3  
acorn54
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 351
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 1 Time in 1 Post
Originally Posted by Bitcrome View Post
I am building a e bike and i"'m using a side mounted 36 v 500 w DC Motor linked with chain. They are 2 freewheels installed on the same side one for the motor and one for me. The one on the motor works just fine but the one that I'm using it's skipping. I already tried on two bikes. Same problem. The freewheels are new. can it be that freewheel has a different spacing between the teth? Can someone help me ?

i had skipping on low end shimano cluster and was told on the buget models not uncommon when cluster is under pressure. i thought it was the new chain i put on. but this same thing always happen. i stick with cheap cluster freewheel and put up with the skipping under pressure. if you find putting pressure is unadvoidable maybe get a higher quality gear set.
acorn54 is offline  
Old 04-18-19, 08:51 AM
  #4  
hokiefyd
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Northern Shenandoah Valley
Posts: 2,155

Bikes: 2018 Redline Zander, 2018 Giant Roam 2, 2015 Trek Verve 3, 1997 Trek 750, 1969 Peugeot PO-18

Mentioned: 25 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 729 Post(s)
Liked 28 Times in 27 Posts
Originally Posted by Bitcrome View Post
I am building a e bike and i"'m using a side mounted 36 v 500 w DC Motor linked with chain. They are 2 freewheels installed on the same side one for the motor and one for me. The one on the motor works just fine but the one that I'm using it's skipping. I already tried on two bikes. Same problem. The freewheels are new. can it be that freewheel has a different spacing between the teth? Can someone help me ?
Do the freewheels on the same side just piggyback off each other? You don't have enough posts yet to post a picture, but can you provide a link to such a setup on the internet? If the freewheels are stacked/piggybacked, is the pedal freewheel the inboard freewheel or the outboard freewheel?
hokiefyd is offline  
Old 04-18-19, 11:30 PM
  #5  
Bike Gremlin
Bike Gremlin
 
Bike Gremlin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Novi Sad
Posts: 4,092

Bikes: Custom made on Scott Speedster frame, Custom made on a 1996. steel MTB frame (all but frame changed at least once in the past 20 years).

Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 939 Post(s)
Liked 2 Times in 2 Posts
I haven't had problems with new Shimano freewheels skipping caused by internal mechanism (that should "lock" when the drive torque is applied).
They can skip when they are worn, or when a worn chain is used on a new freewheel, or when an incorrect chain width is used, or when the chain is not aligned (incorrect chainline, or incorrectly tuned derailleur)...

As others have said: more detailed description of the setup (preferably with pictures) would help.
Bike Gremlin is offline  
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
absoludicrous
Road Cycling
7
06-04-17 03:18 PM
Cdy291
Road Cycling
3
06-26-10 10:40 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.