Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Classic & Vintage
Reload this Page >

1978 Holdsworth Frame Upgrades

Notices
Classic & Vintage This forum is to discuss the many aspects of classic and vintage bicycles, including musclebikes, lightweights, middleweights, hi-wheelers, bone-shakers, safety bikes and much more.

Old 06-03-20, 02:54 AM
davefidd

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked 1 Time in 1 Post

Hi! I want to fit my Holdsworth Special frame with modern carbon fibre fork/stem/handlebars&seatpost, wheels and crank/pedals. I'm new to this and I'm looking for some help to chose the right parts and see what's possible. Thanks!
Old 06-03-20, 09:08 AM
jeirvine 

Bikes: '72 Motobecane Grand Record, '72 Gitane tandem, '72 Raleigh Super Course, '73 Raleigh Gran Sport, '73 Colnago Super, '76 Fiorelli Coppi, '78 Raleigh SBDU Team Pro, '78 Trek 930, '81 Holdsworth Special 650B, '86 Masi GC, ’94 Bridgestone RB-T

Mentioned: 67 Post(s)
Quoted: 786 Post(s)
Liked 516 Times in 280 Posts
There's a thread here dedicated to that sort of thing. Almost anything's possible:
https://www.bikeforums.net/classic-v...i-s-ergos.html
Old 06-03-20, 10:59 AM
davefidd

Liked 1 Time in 1 Post
Thanks, I'll check that out!
Old 06-03-20, 11:24 AM
jlaw

Bikes: 2015 Spec. AWOL Elite,2022 Spec. Diverge, 1984 Trek 620 1985 Trek 620, 1979 Trek 710

Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Quoted: 394 Post(s)
Liked 194 Times in 110 Posts
Originally Posted by davefidd
Hi! I want to fit my Holdsworth Special frame with modern carbon fibre fork/stem/handlebars&seatpost, wheels and crank/pedals. I'm new to this and I'm looking for some help to chose the right parts and see what's possible. Thanks!
Sounds like a great project. There are many members here who have 'modernized' vintage frame/forks. The good news is that you can usually find an ample selection of options for modern components that will bolt right onto a vintage frame (with some fiddling occasionally).