Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Bicycle Mechanics
Reload this Page >

How to avoid punctures tyres and buckling wheels?

Search
Notices
Bicycle Mechanics Broken bottom bracket? Tacoed wheel? If you're having problems with your bicycle, or just need help fixing a flat, drop in here for the latest on bicycle mechanics & bicycle maintenance.

Search this Thread

Old 03-24-20, 08:46 AM
venomx

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 64 Post(s)
Liked 7 Times in 5 Posts

I'm new to road riding and want to know how to avoid punctures tyres and buckling wheels?
Old 03-24-20, 09:23 AM
trailangel

Bikes: Schwinn Varsity

Mentioned: 22 Post(s)
Quoted: 1931 Post(s)
Liked 742 Times in 422 Posts
You can avoid "tyre" punctures by not riding over nails, thorns, glass and little wires that you cannot see without a magnifying glass.
You can avoid buckling wheels by not riding over potholes and riding light when you do hit the potholes.
Likes For trailangel:
Old 03-24-20, 09:38 AM
cyccommute 
Mad bike riding scientist

Bikes: Some silver ones, a red one, a black and orange one, and a few titanium ones

Mentioned: 152 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6219 Post(s)
Liked 4,217 Times in 2,364 Posts
Originally Posted by venomx
I'm new to road riding and want to know how to avoid punctures tyres and buckling wheels?
Trailangel has flats covered with the caveat that flats are inevitable and not 100% preventable. As for buckling wheels, that is an extremely rare occurrence. Your wheels would have to be incredible lightweight and delicate. You might experience buckling wheels if they are poorly...very, very poorly...tensioned. Wheels are incredibly strong even when poorly built. They will take an incredible amount of punishment with only minor issues. They will go out of true but they won’t fold over.
Gold Fever Three days of dirt in Colorado
Pokin' around the Poconos A cold ride around Lake Erie