Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Touring
Reload this Page >

About sleeping together

Search
Notices
Touring Have a dream to ride a bike across your state, across the country, or around the world? Self-contained or fully supported? Trade ideas, adventures, and more in our bicycle touring forum.

About sleeping together

Search this Thread

Old 03-27-17, 12:02 AM
jaacco

Bikes: '97 Marin Eldridge Grade, '21 Kona Dr. Dew

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
About sleeping together

Hey all you couples who sleep together on the tour - how do you do it?

Upon noticing that Exped now makes double-width sleeping pads I started dreaming about also having a shared sleep cover . I did some reading and choices seem to be a double sleeping bag (affordable) or a double quilt (expensive). Anyone here with experience about either or both?

I have no experience on using a quilt (single or duo) but I would think it is nicer in warmer climates as it is easier to regulate temperature by just flicking it open or sticking a foot out? Nice quilts seem really expensive tho compared to the BA synth bag, especially when combined with the price of a new pad.
Old 03-27-17, 12:16 AM
Trevtassie

Bikes: A steel framed 26" off road tourer from a manufacturer who thinks they are cool. Giant Anthem. Trek 720 Multiroad pub bike. 10 kids bikes all under 20". Assorted waifs and unfinished projects.

Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Quoted: 1188 Post(s)
Liked 1,154 Times in 640 Posts
Dunno, I reckon most people sleep at different temperatures, I know myself and my partner do, plus I'm known to starfish on the odd occasion. We ended up buying North Face Campforters, a sort of hybrid sleeping bag quilt thingo...
Old 03-27-17, 12:22 AM
CliffordK

Mentioned: 217 Post(s)
Quoted: 18382 Post(s)
Liked 4,515 Times in 3,355 Posts