Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Bicycle Mechanics
Reload this Page >

Rim Brake Pad "sanding" Flat ..

Search
Notices
Bicycle Mechanics Broken bottom bracket? Tacoed wheel? If you're having problems with your bicycle, or just need help fixing a flat, drop in here for the latest on bicycle mechanics & bicycle maintenance.

Search this Thread

Old 09-07-23, 02:46 PM
magicpie55

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked 6 Times in 5 Posts

Hello ... I have a set of rim brake pads I'd like to try ... Looking at them thou their thicker in the middle than the ends ..seems to me the middle would just touch the rim during braking and not the whole pad .. wouldn't work as well as they should ..seems to me ..

I'm thinking of sanding them flat before installing them ... Or at least if after Installing them it seems their not working so great then try sanding them flat ... I have no experience in this stuff and will appreciate any tips ..
Thanks .. Don
Old 09-07-23, 03:08 PM
maddog34

Bikes: !982 Trek 930R Custom, Diamondback ascent with SERIOUS updates, Fuji Team Pro CF and a '09 Comencal Meta 5.5

Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1299 Post(s)
Liked 739 Times in 534 Posts
is the curve front to rear, or top to bottom?
what type of brakes? V-brake? Canti? Side pull? Disc brake?
Are the pads extremely Hard? Old? Any brand name obvious?

i resurface brake pads if they are not worn down badly...this presents a fresh surface that will then bed into the rim they are now being used on.

a front to back arc would indicate possible brake problems beyond just the pad.
Old 09-07-23, 03:24 PM
magicpie55

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked 6 Times in 5 Posts
It's the ends that curve up a bit ..like the center is going to hit the rim first and the ends might not help stopping at all ...in my mind ..I have 4 differen't sets of pads/shoes whatever their called ..Have never gotten very good braking out of any of them ...