Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Mountain Biking
Reload this Page >

Advice on purchasing entry-mid level MTB bike!

Notices
Mountain Biking Mountain biking is one of the fastest growing sports in the world. Check out this forum to discuss the latest tips, tricks, gear and equipment in the world of mountain biking.

Old 02-11-19, 12:24 PM
breeze14

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

I am relatively new to the sport of mountain biking. I have a hybrid Fuji that I started riding off road and was advised that I really need to purchase a mountain bike. I have a background riding motocross/cross country and I would say I am coming into the sport as a beginner-intermediate rider. I am wanting to purchase a bike that will grow with me as I become a better rider and do not want to buy a complete entry level bike to only have to upgrade to a better bike with better suspension, forks, etc. I plan to be riding mostly trails with a mix of downhill and climbs and some rocks/roots obstacles. I’m 5’8” and ~160 lbs and I’m thinking of getting a medium frame. I have visited several local bike shops and with that being said I am currently looking at 3 bikes:
1) Liv Tempt 2 (27.5)
2) Specialized Women's Rockhopper Expert (29er)
3) Diamondback Lux 3 (27.5)
Does anyone have experience with any of these bikes/brands and could give me specific feedback about the pros/cons of these? Being new to the sport this is a really tough decision and I appreciate any feedback! Thank you in advance!

Last edited by breeze14; 02-11-19 at 06:41 PM.
Old 02-11-19, 06:21 PM
BrocLuno

Bikes: K2 (Marzocchi/Fox), Trek 6000 (red) MARS Elite up front, Specialized Hardrock Sport -> eBike (R7 Elite up front), lastly TREK 820 loaner. Recently sold Peugeot du Monde Record and 1956 Schwinn (owned since new).

Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Quoted: 75 Post(s)
Liked 2 Times in 2 Posts