Search
Notices
General Cycling Discussion Have a cycling related question or comment that doesn't fit in one of the other specialty forums? Drop on in and post in here! When possible, please select the forum above that most fits your post!

Spare chain links

Search this Thread

Old 07-24-19, 02:39 AM
iamLefty

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 79 Post(s)
Liked 13 Times in 10 Posts
Spare chain links

What’s a good spare link to buy, KMC quick link? It’s for a 10-speed shimano chain. Honestly i have no idea what to get. Since i started riding mtb in 2016, all i bring are multi tools with only hex wrenches and philips and flat screwdrivers, mini pump and tubes, and luckily the only problems i’ve encountered are flat tires. It’s only now that i’m into road bikes that i bought a multi tool with chain tool, and i’m looking to buy spare chain links too. With my mtb, i do nothing more than 110 km on long rides. I plan to ride longer with my rb and wanted to be more prepared in case of an emergency.
Old 07-24-19, 04:49 AM
datlas 
Should Be More Popular

Bikes: 1986 Alpine (steel road bike), 2009 Ti Habenero, 2013 Specialized Roubaix

Mentioned: 560 Post(s)
Tagged: 2 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22574 Post(s)
Liked 8,919 Times in 4,153 Posts
Lots of options but I use KMC quick link (10 speed version) with my 10 speed Shimano chain/drivetrain, no problems.
Likes For datlas:
Old 07-24-19, 06:01 AM
DrIsotope
Non omnino gravis

Bikes: Nekobasu, Pandicorn, Lakitu

Mentioned: 119 Post(s)
Quoted: 4905 Post(s)
Liked 1,731 Times in 958 Posts
I've used Connex, KMC, SRAM, and FSA. For the most part, a quick-link is a quick-link. Buy whatever's convenient. The brand of the quicklink and the chain do not need to match.
Old 07-24-19, 06:15 PM
August West

Bikes: Domane SLR7 Project One

Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Quoted: 152 Post(s)
Liked 173 Times in 105 Posts