Search
Notices
Long Distance Competition/Ultracycling, Randonneuring and Endurance Cycling Do you enjoy centuries, double centuries, brevets, randonnees, and 24-hour time trials? Share ride reports, and exchange training, equipment, and nutrition information specific to long distance cycling. This isn't for tours, this is for endurance events cycling

first century ride

Search this Thread

Old 02-23-12, 08:03 AM
foxxy2490

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
first century ride

Hi everyone,
I just signed up for my first century ride in June. I started training the other day on an old mountain bike. After not riding for a long time boy were my womenly parts in severe pain. I am looking for a comfortable seat and was wondering what some experienced riders would recommend. Also, I am new to "positioning." I believe this might have had a huge impact with my discomfort. I had raised the seat but not the handlebars so I was like a hunchback.
The handles also need new grips because there just pure straight plastic and I could use a few suggestions on those as well. Thanks!
Old 02-23-12, 09:08 AM
Carbonfiberboy 
just another gosling

Bikes: CoMo Speedster 2003, Trek 5200, CAAD 9, Fred 2004

Mentioned: 115 Post(s)
Quoted: 3887 Post(s)
Liked 1,938 Times in 1,383 Posts
My wife's favorite is the Specialized Lithia saddle. When you have a better saddle, you'll be able to rotate your pelvis forward and flatten your back. Your bars probably don't need to be raised. Bike shop for the grips.
Old 02-23-12, 10:04 AM
Myosmith
Lover of Old Chrome Moly

Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Quoted: 143 Post(s)
Liked 23 Times in 17 Posts