Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > General Cycling Discussion
Reload this Page >

Bent chain segment during installation

Search
Notices
General Cycling Discussion Have a cycling related question or comment that doesn't fit in one of the other specialty forums? Drop on in and post in here! When possible, please select the forum above that most fits your post!

Search this Thread

Old 03-03-20, 05:53 AM
ka2020

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked 1 Time in 1 Post

Hi All, I am new to bike maintenance. When I tried replacing my bike chain at home, the connection rivet was very tight and I wasn't able to loosen it without using a screw driver and force it between the two metal plates. Now the connection rivet is loosened, but I noticed the upper plate is slightly bent, Oh!
My question: is this chain done? Or I am fine riding it with limited time? Or the segment would be durable and I am completely fine?
Old 03-03-20, 06:13 AM
dabac

Mentioned: 46 Post(s)
Quoted: 1074 Post(s)
Liked 295 Times in 222 Posts
If you were able to press the rivet in, I assume you have a chain tool.
All chain(breaker) tools I’ve seen in recent history have had a feature to create slack in a link too.
Apart from that, there’s no way to tell. Your joint might be good enough to last the natural life of the chain. Or it might fail two blocks from home.
Old 03-03-20, 07:28 AM
trailflow1

Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Quoted: 131 Post(s)
Liked 21 Times in 17 Posts
What chain ? did it come with a quick link ?

Do you have a chain pin removal tool ?

If a link is bent it would not be safe to use.

But if you have a chain pin removal tool, you can remove the link completely and then re-connect on the adjacent links with a quick link. I dont recommend connecting a chain together by a pin because there is little room for error. a quick link is far easier. Especially for a beginner. Just buy a quick link, and the open/close pliers for the quick link, and a chain pin removal tool.